Gallery

I loved Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, it was much better than Cats…(TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comI finished The Half-Blood Prince last night/early this morning and I loved it, it was much better than Cats, I’m going to read it again and again. Okay, yes, I did love it, it was much better than Cats, which isn’t saying much because as you might know from my post yesterday, cats aren’t my favorite creatures sometimes, but I don’t know if I’m going to read it again and again, at least not this year because well, I’m booked through much of the year. Seriously, though, J.K. Rowling’s sixth book in the Harry Potter series was mesmerizing and I can’t wait to read the last one, The Deathly Hallows.

That said, I think I’m going to wait to read the last one and do as I have been doing as I have been reading this series: take a break in between one book and the next. Yesterday, I broke my rule of taking two books out of the library at one time and one book per week from the to-be-read shelf in my office, especially the part about the library as I checked out three books and I already had checked out two others before that. The first two books are:

The last three books are not part of a series and are:

  • Tabloid City by Pete Hamill (@petehamillnyc) because someone on Twitter mentioned it, and I thought it sounded fascinating.
  • Twitter for Dummies by Laura Fitton (@pistachio), Michael E. Gruen (@gruen) and Leslie Poston (@leslie), speaking of Twitter and not because I’m a dummy, but because I use Twitter (@unfnshdprsn) and thought it never hurts to learn more about a social media tool that I use.
  • Above The Fold: Understanding the Principles of Successful Web Site Design by Brian Miller (@BMDG), because while it’s a marketing book for companies, I still thought some of the ideas might translate to a blog, specifically my blog.

I’ll be honest that I’m split between the first two, with the last two being more browsing materials, I’m thinking, than actually reading materials, but will decide later today. Most likely I’ll go with the Reichs since I have had the book out for so long and it isn’t another fantasy series like Rothfuss or The Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin that I’ve already started too. Speaking of the latter, I am on the waiting list for A Clash of Kings in e-book, so my plans mentioned last week for getting back to the reading challenges may be put on hold another month or two, maybe until the second half of the year. I’m just enjoying these other series too much.

So what are your reading plans for today? What’s the last book/series that mesmerized you?

11 responses to “I loved Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, it was much better than Cats…(TSS)

  1. Pingback: On books adapted into TV shows or movies (again) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I loved Harry Potter…and i loved this post… it was much better than Cats.

  3. I read that last two Potter books super fast – each one in like 3 days. Yeah, I didn’t sleep but I got that shit out of the way.

    I got a Kindle for Christmas and have read about 40 books on it since December 25th of last year. (No joke, I know – I am sick). My friends at book club made me read the “Hunger Games” series, and while it was written for young adults (i.e. – the annoying ones) I thought they were pretty good.

    • I got a Nook for Christmas, but haven’t seen an uptick in my reading yet…however, I do like reading on it more than I do in book form, something about not having the other page to distract me.

  4. The fact that you’re enjoying The Song of Fire and Ice series makes me want to pick up the first book again. I listened to the first few chapters on audio and then stopped for some reason. Have a great Sunday!

  5. I loved Pete Hamill’s North River and Snow in August – he’s a fantastic writer!

  6. Today I’m reading Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand….I started it last night, but after reading ALL DAY, my eyes were starting to BLUR seriously.

    I plan to read the Harry Potter books someday! I know, I keep saying that…

    But first I have to make a serious dent in the TBRs. And I don’t even DARE go into the library right now…the books would pile up and miss due dates, etc.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST