Gallery

My name is Unfinished Person and I am a serial reader

After taking another short hiatus from the Harry Potter series, I’m back to it this week with The Half-Blood Prince — and still loving the series. I can’t believe that I’ve taken this long to read it. I spent my hiatus with the second of the Inspector Vaara series: Lucifer’s Tears by James Thompson. While I enjoyed it, I’m glad to be back to — even though I know the Harry Potter series is turning “heavy” — considerably lighter fare than what that book was.

As I mentioned this past weekend, I do want to get back to reading books for the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge, the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge and the Baker Street Challenge, and continue to only take two books out of the library at one time and one book per week from the to-be-read shelf in my office. However, that doesn’t mean I won’t be tempted to read, and to act on those temptations to read, other books — or start other series. Last night I put three e-books on hold at the library, all of which are a part of a series, or will be. I’ve already started one and hope to start the other two.

The three books are:

  • A Clash of Kings, the second part of the A Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin.
  • The Name of the Wind, the first part of the Kingkiller Chronicles, by Patrick Rothfuss.
  • The Informationist by Taylor Stevens, which has a planned sequel.

I already read A Game of Thrones on e-book from the library, but last time I checked it didn’t have the second one available on e-book. When I checked yesterday, though, it did. As for The Name of the Wind, I came to this one in a roundabout way. A patron at our library recommended another book with a similar name, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafon, and when I mentioned it to another staff member, she recommended the Rothfuss book and series. I still want to get the Zafon book eventually.

I came across the third book, The Informationist, while browsing last night through the e-book selections our library has. In the description of this book, the heroine is described as similar to Lisbeth Salander, the heroine of the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson. I thought since I liked that series, I might as well give Stevens’ book a try.

My name is Unfinished Person and I am a serial reader, much like Suzi Q Oregon of the blog Whimpulsive. Even the aforementioned challenges in which I am involved include series, for example, with the Murakami challenge, I plan on reading A Wild Sheep Chase and its sequel, Dance, Dance, Dance. Of course, many of the Christie books are series from Hercule Poirot to Miss Marple and the Sherlock Holmes books are most definitely a series. In fact, I’m hard pressed to think of many books that I read that aren’t part of a series.

So are you an addict of series, either books or movies, or both? What are some of your favorite series in either or both mediums? For me, my favorite all-time in both mediums would have to be The Lord of the Rings trilogy. What about you?

I now have a fan page on Facebook. If you’re not already a fan, come be one and you’ll get not only feeds from this blog there, but also my “microblog,” Unfinished, on Posterous. I’ve tried (unsuccessfully) consolidating that one and this one, but have been unsuccessful due to the incompatibilities between the two post by e-mail features of each, so I’m just going to keep them separate. The Posterous posts are more just “one-offs” anyway instead of fully-formed thoughts as the posts here are intended — and sometimes actually are.

19 responses to “My name is Unfinished Person and I am a serial reader

  1. Why do you buy so many damn books? Because you’re a hoarder. All bibliophiles are. Believe me, I know. Just embrace it. πŸ™‚

  2. I don’t do well with serials. I read the first and then end up not reading another for years…if ever. I did read all the Harry Potters and all of the Twilights (ya, whatever). I have the first 12 or 13 Stephanie Plum books in hardback but have only read the first. I do collect a few other series but I can’t seem to be bothered to read them. Huh–why do I buy so many damn books?

    Anyway, everyone has me very curious about Game of Thrones but another series? Eeep!

  3. Pingback: I loved Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, it was much better than Cats…(TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  4. The Millenium Series is definitely on my list but so is Pullman’s His Dark Materials. I like Connelly’s Bosch novels and Ian Rankins’ Rebus series. How about Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – a trilogy in five parts? And I loved the off-the-wall memoir series by Augusten Burroughs, beginning with Running With Scissors. I just read Stephen King’s Full Dark, No Stars, a collection of 4 short stories. My to read list includes Suzanne Collins’ trilogy that begins with The Hunger Games. Oh, I almost forgot – I loved Pillars of the Earth and it’s sequel World Without End by Ken Follett. I read them back to back in about a week and a half recently.

    My top TV/DVD series would have to include HBO’s Boardwalk Empire, the most recent Battlestar Galactica series and the British classics The Prisoner, The Avengers, Yes Minister/Prime Minister and the Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin.

    • *Facepalm* I don’t know why I keep forgetting the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy which is one of my favorite series EVER…I’m also with you the recent Battlestar Galactica and Yes Prime Minister/Prime Minister even though my wife just doesn’t get it.

  5. “So are you an addict of series, either books or movies, or both?”

    Both!

    Books:
    The most recent series I read was The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

    Movies:
    Airplane, Naked Gun, Star Wars!

  6. Danielle Steel is from San Franciso. When I was in my early 20’s I did read her. About 10 years later, a friend of mine went to work for her as a “personal assistant”. She actually isn’t a bad writer, but it’s not the stuff I really like since I tend to admire the more hard boiled characters. Amazing that a formula writer could have such amazing success. No, actually, most people are just looking for “escape” books I guess I’m not surprised. Harry Borsch is one of my favorite characters ever! He’s so “tortured”. I love Harry.

  7. Total series addict here – both books and movies! I have a whole page on my blog dedicated to keeping track of my series reading. πŸ™‚

  8. We series addicts have to stick together! I’m so glad to see you read the Kari Vaara books. I have Game of Thrones, but I’m saving that one for later. I’ve got a few I’m on a mission to get caught up with first.

  9. And yes, I misspelled Michael Connelly. Sorry bout that!

  10. I am a “serial reader” too. Actually, make that more of a grab an author I like and read every book they have ever written. My favorites are really pretty pedestrian compared to yours though. I adore Robert Crais, Michael Connlley, Martha Grimes, Jon Ktaz, Lee Child, WEB Griffin, and Danielle Steele (hah! Just wanted to see if you were paying attention.) TV series: “Justified” (on FX), “The US of Tara” (Showtime), “Dexter”, (Showtime), “Weeds, (Showtime), “Nurse Jackie”, (Showtime). I also love “Miami Vice” back in the days when you were a little boy Bryan. I would rush to get home every Friday night for Sonny and Crocket. I also loved “Hill Street Blues”. There are more, but I can’t think of them.

    • Hey, I like Connelly too, although I think he might should let Bosch go. That said, his next one sounds promising…finally getting away from the family angle, which I thought was semi-lame. Danielle Steele? Really? πŸ˜‰
      I actually watched Miami Vice as a teen. So there πŸ˜› and I loved Hill Street Blues too.

  11. I would definitely have to agree with you, The Lord of the Rings are some of my favorites from both mediums. As far as books go, I love Stephen King’s dark tower series, and I love Harry Potter, but I haven’t finished it yet. The last two books are on my list to read this year, but its been so long since I’ve read them, I think I need to start all over again!

    Happy reading!