Gallery

No more heartburn, but yes to more heart-massaging foods, whatever they may be

Each Monday, I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. For 2011, I also am including a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

No more HEARTBURN

I woke up this morning at 5:30 a.m., which for some of you might not be a big deal, but for me, who doesn’t usually get up before 8 a.m. because I work part-time jobs that are late afternoon and evening, it is. I had wicked heartburn, not just heartburn, mind you, but wicked heartburn. Luckily, our medicine cabinet is full of all kinds of antacids and I took one or two, and within an hour, I was feeling better than I had been.

I realized that then just as I have given up eating hot wings because of heartburn, I need to give up alcohol because of the same reason. Last night I had a few malt beverages, actually one more than I had planned to have because my wife forced me to have hers. She said, “Here, you want this one too? I can’ t drink it,” and I said, “Yes.” and promptly drank it.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not giving up alcohol because I have anything against it on moral grounds or because I think I have a problem with “controlling my liquor.” I’m giving it up purely on the basis that I’ve had problems with acid reflux (actually, achalasia, a condition similar to acid reflux) in the past and had surgery for it, and I don’t need the literal heartache that comes from drinking alcohol. It’s that plain and simple.

more heart-massaging foods

What do I mean by that? I don’t know exactly, but whatever is the opposite of hot wings and alcohol, that’s what it is. One thing it might be is water. Other than that, I’m not sure. Speaking of water, naturally, I’ll end with the song that has been bouncing around inside my cranium for some reason for the last few weeks (although I didn’t shoot a man on the Mexican border; the Canadian border, that’s a whole other story):

So what do you suggest as heart-massaging foods, the opposite of those foods that cause heartburn?

I’ve converted my Unfinished Person profile on Facebook to a fan page. If you previously weren’t a friend, come on over and “like” the page to keep up with what’s happening with this blog.

5 responses to “No more heartburn, but yes to more heart-massaging foods, whatever they may be

  1. Pingback: Achalasia: When You Just Can’t Swallow. « Alternative Health Answers

  2. I don’t get heartburn eating hot wings, but I do get it after brushing my teeth (because of the toothpaste). It’s something left over from my last pregnancy. *sigh*

  3. Truthfully, Bryan, I think you’d be a lot better off with a fairly bland diet. I’m sorry to say that, but it seems to work. You might start off with the oatmeal for breakfast, knock off any seasonings that give you trouble, and keep away from anything spicy. If Kimberly is Mexican, I’m afraid you might need another wife too. Don’t look at me! I’m Mexican. We don’t “do” bland.

    • Oatmeal? Ugh. I don’t think so, but I’ll at least start with breakfast. 🙂 Seasonings, though, I could knock off and Kimberly isn’t Mexican, so I’m cool on that front. To be honest, Mexican doesn’t bother me…in moderation. I think all of these things in moderation are OK, but I too often go right to the excess. 😦