Gallery

Maybe, someday I’ll be more together (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comWith today  being the first day of May and since I already wrapped up reading for April with this post, I thought it would be good to look at what I plan on reading during this month.

My reading goals in February were to continue the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge, the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge and the Baker Street Challenge, and continue to only take two books out of the library at one time and one book per week from the to-be-read shelf in my office. So how many books have I read so far from the three challenges?

Yep, that’s right.

And how have I done on my personal challenge of only taking two books out of the library at a time? Eh, not bad. However, it hasn’t been one nonfiction and one fiction as I envisioned. At times, like in the past few weeks, it’s been two fiction books: Snow Angels and Lucifer’s Tears, both part of a series about a Finnish detective named Inspector Vaara, by James Thompson. Other times, it’s been as many as…I hate to admit this…THREE books.

Later this month, I will get back to at least one of the three reading challenges, if not more, but first, I have a series to finish: that being the Harry Potter series, which I started back in March. I only have two left: The Half-Blood Prince and The Deathly Hallows, and then my wife and I finally will be able to watch all the movies up until the last part of the last one of the series. We have seen at least three of the movies, but I stopped watching them after that, because I wanted to read the books first. With the last moving coming out this July, I was “forced” to read the series in its entirety.

However, first today I’ll finish Lucifer’s Tears. The series is brutal, but still compelling. One of the blurbs on the first book compared Inspector Kari Vaara to Philip Marlowe and that’s not far off. It’s a little bit of a modern-day film noir and since I love film noir, I’m enjoying this.

So what are your reading plans for today, this week and the rest of the month of May?


9 responses to “Maybe, someday I’ll be more together (TSS)

  1. Pingback: I loved Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, it was much better than Cats…(TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: My name is Unfinished Person and I am a serial reader | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Right now I’m reading 3 books but none for fun. I’m taking classes and all 3 are text books. They’re going to keep me busy for all of May and most of June. Maybe in July I’ll have time to read something just for enjoyment!

  4. It’s funny because right now I’m having trouble reading. Maybe it’s the season. I want to be outside and doing something more physical. (Since I spent the winter indoors sitting on my butt, it’s not a bad thing for me to want some activity.)

    I admire what you are doing. I am lazy about what I read. I don’t usually want anything too challenging; I just want entertainment. Reading challenging books is too much like homework!

  5. Noah and I are still making our way through HP on audio, hoping to finish before the film in July, but may not happen. We’re about 1/4 of the way through Half-Blood Prince. I’ve read them all before their movies came out, but this is the first time with the books for Noah (he’s 12) and he is amazed at how much is missing from the movies!

    As far as my reading plans, I’m sticking to my schedule so that by the end of June I’ll be 90% done with review commitments and can spend July and August reading on a whim. That’s my plan. 🙂

    Have a wonderful Sunday!

    • Keep up the good work. Sounds like you’re staying on schedule. Luckily, I don’t have any review commitments or a real schedule to keep up with. All the challenges are yearlong and aren’t due by the end of this month. Thank God. 🙂

  6. You read some huge books this month so don’t feel bad about not reading anything for your challenges. I don’t really know what I want to read for May but I do know I want to try and make a dent in my tbr pile. My bookcases, desk, and nightstand are overflowing with books.

    • Oh, yeah, I have bookcases too full of books. I have sorted a pile out of the bookcases, now just to take them to the library for the booksale or to our local bookstore where I might can trade them in for credits.