Gallery

Looking back at April and the year so far in reading and movies

Today I’m going to review my reading in the month of April and this year so far. To date, this month, I’ve read four books:

  1. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
  2. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
  3. Snow Angels by James Thompson
  4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling.
Cover of

Cover via Amazon

I plan on finishing at least one more:

  • Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott.

I’m reading that last one for a book club with Tribal Blogs that meets tomorrow night to conclude discussion of the book. Folks from the blog community have been meeting every Thursday all month at 8:30 p.m. ET to discuss the book, but this will be my first time that I’ll be able to join them, which is a good thing because until yesterday, I hadn’t cracked open the book.

Out of the four others, the one I liked the least, and not because it was bad, but because the other three were just so amazingly good, was Snow Angels by James Thompson, which is the first of a series about a Finnish detective named Inspector Vaara. I already have the second one, Lucifer’s Tears, out from the library and look forward to reading that in the next couple of weeks…if not this weekend.

The four I’ve read this month (sadly) keeps me on target for about four books a month as I’ve read 16 books in total this year, not counting the Lamott book. To see a list of the other 12 I’ve read, see my list on listography. I also keep a list there on the movies I’ve watched this year (one of the next movies I’ll be watching, Friday at 10 p.m. ET, will be Suspicion with Cary Grant and Joan Fontaine as part of a Hitchcock festival #hitchfest on Twitter).

Still my favorite book that I’ve read this year is Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, and my favorite movie that I’ve watched this year so far is 127 Hours.

So what’s your favorite book read and favorite movie seen so far this year?

18 responses to “Looking back at April and the year so far in reading and movies

  1. My favorite read of the year: a three-way tie between Chew by John Layman, Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones, and Please Look After Mom by Kyung-Sook Shin. I haven’t watched many movies this year but my favorite has to be Scott Pilgrim.

    • I haven’t heard of any of those books, well, except for you mentioning them here and on your blog and on GoodReads. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I loved Scott Pilgrim. What a great movie. Agreed.

  2. Pingback: Maybe, someday I’ll be more together (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I loved all the Harry Potter books and have just started watching “Game of Thrones” on HBO. I was going to read the books but I have heard mixed reviews of them.

  4. I just ran upon your blog today. I think your quote on your about page is from John Dewey, not William James:

    [We live in] a universe which is not all closed and settled, which is still in some respects
    indeterminate and in the making… an open universe in which uncertainty, choice,
    hypotheses, novelties, and possibilities are naturalized… Man finds himself living in an
    aleatory world; his existence involves, to put it bluntly, a gamble. The world is a scene of risk
    : it is uncertain, unstable, uncannily unstable.
    — John Dewey

    see here

    • Interesting. In the section you reference, Dewey actually is referring to James as the originator of the theory. However, I have seen other places online, one or two, that reference Dewey as saying what you quoted above. The quote that I was using was attributed to James by the late George Sheehan. I was only going by what he was saying. He might have gotten it wrong. However, I stand by the sentiment expressed there, regardless of who said it. That said, I’ll make a footnote or a reference to your comment on my about page for clarification or correction, depending on how people see it.

  5. So far this year I’ve read “The Somebody Who” by Katie Gates (a blogger) and loved it. It’s a story about a man with Alzheimer’s and his family. Not depressing in the slightest but very insightful, funny, and heart warming. I’ve also read “I’ll Never Be French” by Mark Greenside, a funny and wonderful writer. Then there is “61 Hours” by Lee Child and “Worth Dying For” also by Child. “The Paris Wife” a fictionalized Hemingway memoir by Paula McLain (loved it), “The Reversal”, “The Fifth Witness” and “Nine Dragons” by Michael Connelly, and “The Sentry” by Robert Crais. Movies, eh! I’ve seen a lot of mediocre.

  6. Well, I don’t want to copy you and say Unbroken is my favorite of the year, but it definitely ranks in the top three. The other two would be Doomsday Book by Connie Willis and A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. As for movies, that’s easy – The King’s Speech, hands down.

    • Of course, I’ve heard of The King’s Speech, but I hadn’t heard of the other two books before you mentioned them. I hope to see The King’s Speech in the next few weeks. Our library is supposed to be getting a copy soon.

  7. Hmmm….My favorite movies this year have been The Fighter and Love & Other Drugs. And my new favorite shows this year are Breaking Bad & The Killing. I have YET to read a book this year. Gah, I’m just realizing that now. Sheesh. I need to pick up a new book STAT.

    • I loved The Fighter too, but haven’t seen Love & Other Drugs. I want to see Breaking Bad and haven’t heard of the killing.
      Well, you just made me feel better about my book reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. My fave book read this year: Safe From the Sea by Peter Geye.

    I don’t get to see movies in a theater too much but a rental that I enjoyed was Shutter Island. It was good but I haven’t read the book so I can’t compare the two.

    I have Winter’s Bone at home right now and expect that one to be good.

    • The book Shutter Island was great. The movie was pretty good, but I liked the book much better than the movie. So which Winter’s Bone do you have? The book or the movie? Both were good, but in this case, I think the movie was better than the book. ๐Ÿ™‚