Gallery

On finally seeing gray hair

This morning after getting up and doing my morning routine, I looked in the mirror. Suddenly I saw whatΒ I’ve been denying that my wife has been telling me for the last two years: Gray hair.

Unfortunately, I didn’t see just one. I saw several peppered throughout my hair. I leaned into the mirror to get a closer look and they almost sparkled, nay, winked at me as if to say, “You’re getting old, know whatahmean? Know what ahmean?”

I’ve been in a state of denial about the gray hair for at least two years. This June, I’ll be 42.

I’m writing this sitting in a medical clinic, waiting for my aunt to be finished with a doctor’s appointment. The majority of the people that have been in here are over 60, including my aunt, who just turned 61 on Saturday — meaning they all have a lot more gray hair than I do.

I wistfully watch as most of them are being accompanied by a walker, a cane along with a son or a daughter and a nurse then to see the doctor. Some day that will be me, sans the son or daughter since my wife and I have chosen not to have children (a subject for another post). It might be a niece or a nephew, or a boy or girl Scout.

At least I hope I live that long to hobble along, shuffle to the exam room. I hope the prognosis is good, that despite my gray hair, I’ve got more than a few good years left in my tank.

12 responses to “On finally seeing gray hair

  1. I’ve been wanting gray hair since I was about 16 and saw my art teacher’s girlfriend with a head full of it. Now at 28, I’m pretty happy that I don’t have any on my head yet.

    I saw this story last week about a girl who started going gray around the age of 12 and was COMPLETELY gray by her 18th birthday!! She looks fabulous though. Besides gray hair on most men is just sexy! πŸ˜‰

    • After I wrote this, I did find links that most men aren’t bothered by gray hair..and that women usually are.

      Um, yeah, 28’s a little young to have gray hair. Be thankful you don’t have it.

  2. Ha! Is it wrong that I long for a Hoverround?

    Yes, I’m looking forward to it. hee hee hee

  3. I started getting gray hair at 21 years of age! Just wait til you notice gray chin hairs!

  4. At 60 plus, I do not have gray hair but I admit that’s by choice. I don’t have a walker, or a nurse either. I’m not even borderline elderly. Age is a state of mind. 42 is 2 years younger than my son, a marathon runner and superb athlete. Get the age thing out of your head until it applies, Dear!

  5. I’ve been telling you for a while that I think it looks cool.

  6. I started going grey at 37. Don’t complain ya big weenie.
    πŸ˜‰

    Hey, going grey isn’t a sign of “getting old”. Look at Steve Martin – he’s still a wild and crazy guy yet went grey in his 20’s I believe. Me moms started at 16!! (No, that is not a typo). As for myself, the grey has finally won out over my hair colouring, but I’ll always be a blonde at heart.
    πŸ˜‰

    • Sheesh. 37? Whew. I guess I shouldn’t complain, huh? πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the Steve Martin thought. I’m feeling better already as I love him.

      I’ll always be a brunette at heart then. πŸ™‚

  7. You’ve earned them. Stand proud!

    πŸ™‚

  8. I got greys on my sideburns & later on my beard before I hit 25. So I envy you getting your greys so much later ! πŸ™‚