Gallery

Having to read a book or series before the movie(s), TV series

After taking a short break from the Harry  Potter series with A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, I’m back to reading the Harry Potter series with the fifth one, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. After I finished A Game of Thrones, I posted it on GoodReads and received the following response from Aarti of the blog BookLust:

Just in time for the HBO series?

D-amn. I wish I had HBO right now.

To be honest, I didn’t read it because of the HBO series. Another blogger, Candace of Beth Fish Reads, had been mentioning on Twitter that she had been reading it, and reminded me that I had wanted to get back to the series. About a year or two ago, I had read the first one and think I had started the second one, although I don’t remember if I finished it (not because it wasn’t good, but because it was so darned long). Since it had been a while since I had read the first one, I thought it best to restart with the first one.

However, Aarti’s question wasn’t far off the reason I was reading the Harry Potter series before the final movie comes out later this summer:

I think I’ve only seen the first three movies and I hadn’t even read all of them. I only had read the first one up until about a month ago when I decided I needed to read all of them and then see all the other movies before the final one hits the theaters. Naturally, this brings me to the question for this week:

Have you ever had to read a book or series of books before seeing the TV series, movie or movies on which they were based? For me, I think that this is the first time I’ve had to read the books first before seeing all the other movies, especially the final one. A lot of times, to be honest, I didn’t even know the movie was based off a book until later…

18 responses to “Having to read a book or series before the movie(s), TV series

  1. If I’ve read the book, I seldom enjoy the movie. We went to see “The Lincoln Lawyer” a few weeks ago and my husband like it. I was bored to tears. Not a bad flick, but knowing where it was going ruined it for me. With some exceptions, the book is usually better by far.

    I attempted to read the first Harry Potter book but could not get past the first chapter. Oddly, I loved the movie of the first book.

    • You really need to try the series again, Linda. Really. It’s that good.

      I still want to see The Lincoln Lawyer even though I read the book. It looked like a good movie anyway.

  2. I go back and forth on this…sometimes I have to read the book before the movie comes out, and other times I’d rather wait that way I won’t be disappointed when the movie is nothing like the book.

  3. I have been wanting to read Martin for ages and the HBO show reminded me of it. I *did* want to read the books before seeing the show because I’d rather my first experience be print or audio rather than screen. I was so surprised at how much I loved the first two books. I’ll be starting the third book in a week or so (the break is nice).

    In re Dexter: I never got around to the books, but I love the show!

    • I used to be the same way…at least in theory, reading the book before seeing the movie or series. But lately, I can’t keep up with everything that’s being made into a movie or TV series from a book or books.

  4. I have to read the book first. If I happen to see a movie and then discover it was based on a book, I will not then read the book. The movie ruins it for me.
    I’ve almost ALWAYS been disappointed by the movie’s translation of the book.
    Notable exceptions are Kite Runner (great movie) and Angela’s Ashes.

    I also have to say that I enjoyed the Golden Compass movie. The book series though? Awesome.

    How is Game of Thrones?

  5. Have you ever had to read a book or series of books before seeing the TV series, movie or movies on which they were based?

    Yes. I actually PREFER to read the book FIRST. But then, of course the movie/TV show never lives up to the book. With the exception of DEXTER.

  6. I almost always read the books before seeing the movies. Could have something to do with being cheap and waiting until things come out on video.
    As for Possession… great book. Haven’t seen the movie, though.

    • Well, the thing for me is I don’t realize that the movies were made from a book (such as 127 Hours) until after I’ve watched the movie.

      So do we have a Possession controversy here? Anyone else want to weigh in on Possession? In the interest of full disclosure, I haven’t read the book or seen the movie, so don’t have a dog in this fight :).

  7. I usually like to read the book first, because I usually hesitate to read the book if I already know the story. Once, though, I found a book really boring (Possession by A.S. Byatt, I’m talking about you!) and so just watched the movie instead, which I loved.

    • In theory, I like to read the book first, but in reality, with so many movies being made from books, it’s not always possible…or at least practical for me to keep up.

      I know my wife really loved the movie Possession too, so you’re saying she shouldn’t read the book? I’ll let her know. 🙂