Rainy days and Mondays

It’s not just against my window I can’t stand it, and it’s not sweet memories it brings back.

Well, one sweet memory of running on the plain in Maine when I ran my fastest 5K. The time? Er…mumble mumble. Yep. That bad, but still it was the fastest I ever ran in my life…

…except for that time when I was a freshman in gym class and I kicked a sophomore in what my wife now calls the “crotchal” area because he was being a bully and dared me to kick him there so I did.

But anyway, I digress from my topic: rainy day songs. That one above is probably my favorite rainy day song.

For the most part, rainy day songs from the 1960s and 1970s are the best, especially songs from this man:

and this group:

and this band:

In the ’90s, it was this song about November Rain, and I’ll throw in this rain song from one of my wife’s favorite singer-songwriters, because…well, it is a beautiful song:

So what are your favorite rainy day songs? Um, yeah, you’ll notice I didn’t put a link to the song I used in the title. There’s a reason for that. I don’t like the song.

12 responses to “Rainy days and Mondays

  1. Pingback: All Thanks, Big and Small « It Just Dawned On Me

  2. Rainy day people always seem to know when it’s time to call. Rainy day people don’t talk, they just listen till they’ve heard it all!

    Also this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LynWDu22Clg

  3. Crap…that’s depressing…

  4. Favorite rainy day song: “It Never Rains (in Southern California)” by Tony Toni Tone. Every time it rains out here, every radio station plays it.

  5. I hate rainy days also..But it better than snowy days.. Spring will get here in Northeastern Ohio at some point I hope.

    • Not much better, though. We just got out of the snow and now it’s right into the rain. Ugh. Saw this on Facebook and thought it was too true:

      INSTALLING SPRING… β–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–ˆβ–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘β–‘ 44% DONE. Install delayed….please wait. Installation failed. Please try again. 404 error: Season not found. Season “Spring” cannot be located. The season you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please try again in 60 days.

  6. It’s raining here, and it’s got me down. I love the songs you posted and went to youtube to find “Tangled Up In Blue” by Dylan. Maybe that will lift my spirits because it’s my favorite of all time I think.

    • I was thinking of you when I started this list, because I know you’ve had a lot of rain out there in California over the last month or two. I woke up from a short (allergy headache) nap this afternoon, it was raining and all I could think of were rain songs. I even made a playlist on MOG: http://mog.com/playlists/644762 <– you should be able to view it even if you can't play it.