Gallery

So busy with life that I didn’t have the time or energy to blog this week

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and usually ask the following questions: For what are you least grateful this past week? For what are you most grateful this past week?

Least grateful

That the week was so busy with life that I didn’t have time or energy to blog. I did have energy to watch some things on Netflix but not to blog. Does that make sense? I know. It probably doesn’t…which brings me to the second part of my least grateful list this week: that I haven’t been reading as much as I did last year. Instead, I’ve been adding TV series to my Netflix Instant queue and then getting frustrated because I’m not sure which one to watch. The other night, my lovely wife pointed out to me that it’s happening again: meaning that when we had cable or satellite, we, meaning, I, let TV rule my life. I’d build up a collection of series in the DVR and then never get to half of them.

So what am I going to do about this? For starters, I’m cutting my Netflix Instant queue to only 10 “essential” series/movies at a time, and I’m cutting my regular queue to five. Instead of immediately turning on the TV to watch Netflix when I get home from work, like the drones I used to despise and think I’d never be one of those people, I’m going to turn on the TV to listen to music on MOG and pick up the latest book I’m reading and go to town. Then only later I may watch something from the queue or not. After all, it will be there later.

MOST GRATEFUL

That the week was so busy with life that I didn’t have the time or energy to blog. Whaaaa? Wait a minute. Wasn’t that my “least grateful” for the week too? Um, yes, but while I don’t wish that the week was so busy with the little worries that I needlessly give myself over work, I do wish my week was so busy with life otherwise, such as meeting with friends, reading a good book or (hey, here’s a concept) going out for a walk or a run that I didn’t have (or make) the time or energy to blog. Does that mean that I’d like to give up blogging altogether? Um, heck, no, to put it  politely.

However, if it meant actually living life to have something more to blog about every other day than, say, my mostly mundane life every day, um, heck, yeah.  Who of us wouldn’t rather be living our lives than blogging? If we don’t have a life, after all, what is there to blog about? (Okay, admittedly, we can blog about other people’s lives, but me being the egotist I am, I’d rather blog about me 😉 ). Of course, though, I do it for you (at least, I hope I “do it” for you; otherwise, you wouldn’t be here).

So for what are you least grateful and most grateful this past week?

13 responses to “So busy with life that I didn’t have the time or energy to blog this week

  1. Pingback: So far so good…. « Resale Chick

  2. Haha! I’ve always said that bloggers are pretty damn egocentric! 😉 But I agree with you on the whole blogging/life thing. It’s part of the reason why I don’t read as much or blog as much as I used to and why I gave up Trish’s Reading Nook. I was actually making excuses to friends to NOT go out so that I could read or blog. Um, dumb! It’s why I don’t pressure myself to blog EVERY day–even though I would like to blog more than twice a week. But whatev.

    Was kind of a quiet week for me. But I’m most grateful for the flowers my mom planted for me a few Sundays ago. With some rain this week they’ve really flourished and every time I come home I think about how beautiful they are and how happy they make me. Love my mom. Love that she spoils me even though I’m almost 30. 🙂

    • Um…yeah…hello? You’re less than a week away from your expected due date! You’ve got a reason not to blog every day (yes, I’m saying this in my head in a high sing-song voice as I type this out, can you hear it?).

      Almost 30: Awww, I remember those halcyon days….

  3. It’s really funny that my husband has finally turned me into a television person. When Alex travels (and that’s a lot) I never even turned on a television until this last year. I spent the evening with the radio on, reading a book and/or playing with the dogs. I have finally succumbed to the flat screened monster in the last year. Since everything is “on demand” I have started to demand it. Alex has always been a fan of spending countless hours in front of a tv. I guess the good thing is we don’t argue about it now. The bad thing is we don’t argue about it now.

    • But that’s not exactly true…all of that, because you have mentioned before to me about your reading books. So I don’t think it’s quite true. Give yourself a little more credit, ma’am. 🙂

  4. I’m most grateful for good friends to celebrate birthdays with which I did this week — one fun lunch last Friday for my friend Pam, and dinner and a concert for me on Wednesday, with more partying to come!

    I’m least grateful for the wind that has bombarded me this week even though that in some places of the world people are being bombarded with actual bombs.

    • Oh, I’m sorry I missed your birthday, Jane. Happy belated to you.

      Your least grateful puts almost all of our least gratefuls in perspective, I think…at least, those of us not being bombarded by actual bombs. 😦

  5. So for what are you least grateful and most grateful this past week?

    Hmmm…..

    I am least grateful there aren’t enough hours in the day to get everything done that I’d like to get done.

    I am most grateful that I have rededicated myself to working on a writing project near and dear to my heart. It’s probably going to take THREE YEARS to finish, but at least I’m on the right path!

  6. I didn’t have much time or energy for reading or blogging this week either, but I think I’m less grateful about that than you are! But I’m trying to resign myself to it for the time being, because I suspect it’ll be like this for another few weeks.

    There is something to be said for having a life, though.

  7. I’m grateful that the weather is finally warming up. I’m grateful that we were able to cross pesky household ‘to-do’ things off the list this week. For good health and possibility and opportunity and What Comes Next, in other words, a new day.