Gallery

Like sugar and spice, so good, so nice

Each Monday, I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. For 2011, I also am including a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

No more sucky shoes

I’ve been talking about getting a new pair of shoes since at least December. The shoes I had were a cheap pair of shoes from Wallyworld that I’ve had since…I don’t know when. Not only were the soles gone, but the rest of the shoes were almost gone too. One of them had a hole in it through which I could have poked a toe.  So to say it was time for me to get a new pair of shoes would be an understatement.

Yes to new balance

I’m not usually one for endorsements, but today I’m singing the praises of New Balance, specifically the now no-longer-made MX622’s. I went today to Armenia Mountain Footwear in Troy, Pa. and the saleslady there helped me pick out a pair that fit just right. Looking around online, I’ve seen the reviews for this particular shoe aren’t that great. However, for me, who’s been wearing the $10 pair of Wallyworld shoes, it’s the perfect shoe…you can ask my wife. I almost had an orgasmic experience this afternoon on the way home with them. They felt that good.

Yep, sort of like that. Sort of, but not quite. Point being: Never underestimate a good pair of shoes. Whatever exercise you’re doing, you do yourself a grave injustice if you don’t get yourself a pair of shoes that makes you feel good.

6 responses to “Like sugar and spice, so good, so nice

  1. I long for a pair of really comfortable shoes. Sadly, wearing a size 12 shoe doesn’t give me a whole lot of options. Keeps me from being a crazy shoe lady, though. No closet full of shoes for me.

  2. I haven’t had a decent pair of exercise shoes in forever either. I think it’s time I made that trek, too.

  3. The only sneakers I can walk/run or exercise in are either New Balance or ASICS! Otherwise, forget it!

  4. I should get a new pair of shoes.. My is a 6 year old pair of nikes.

  5. If the shoes aren’t perfect, it ruins my day. Shoes that hurt or that give no support just make me miserable. Glad you splurged a little!

  6. Agreed! A good pair of comfortable (hopefully affordable) shoes are awesome. We spent three hours, went to four stores just for hubby to pick out one pair of shoes this weekend.