Gallery

Taking a break from one series to start another?!?! — and winners of giveaway announced (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com I could let the suspense build until the end of the post on who the winners were in my third-year blogging anniversary giveaway. But that would be cruel, plus now since I mentioned it, you could just scroll to the bottom of the post and see who the winners were. So I won’t let the suspense the build.

The winners are:

  1. Marie of The Boston Bibliophile
  2. Carol of Confessions of A Reforming Geek
  3. Carrie of Books and Movies

and I added a fourth:

Ladies, if you’re reading this, please send me your mailing addresses to unfinishedperson (at) gmail (dot) com. Otherwise, I’ll contact you via Facebook or other sources to let you know you’ve won and have you send me your addresses.

As for what books the four have won, I’m going to let it be a surprise to them, and if they want to announce on their own blogs what they won, they can do that and link back to my blog. If not, well, I’ll be deeply offended, but I’ll live. 😉

Now on to the past week in reading: I finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and as I mentioned in last weekend’s Sunday Salon, I’m going to take a break before I dive into the next one, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, especially since it’s 800-some pages. So instead I’ve decided to reread A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, which is 700-some pages. Whaaaa?

Yes, it’s true. I’ve decided to take a break from one series by restarting another. Why? Because more than a few book bloggers have been talking about reading the book since it is coming to HBO as a miniseries in a couple of weeks, and it’s been a series I’ve wanted to get back into for a while so this was the perfect time to do it. I think I started A Clash of Kings, the second one, but I don’t think I finished it. That’s why I decided to restart with the first one, because from what I remember there are a lot of storylines in this series and I want to make sure I’m keeping track of them. Whaaaa?

Yes, it’s true. I’ve decided to keep track of another series storyline in between trying to keep track of the Harry Potter series storyline.  Why? Because I’m crazy. ‘Tis true. You don’t believe me. I take Prozac. Come on. Really. I am.

I thought about putting up Crazy Train, but then thought that might be too jarring for some of you who are just finishing up the readathon.

Anyhoo, what will you be reading today? Or if you’re like some book bloggers I know who just took part in Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon, maybe you’ll be taking a break the rest of the day from reading. So what did you read yesterday into today then? What was your favorite read of the readathon?

Bonus: A post from earlier in week: What is it about the middle part of a series or trilogy that makes it so good?

22 responses to “Taking a break from one series to start another?!?! — and winners of giveaway announced (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Pete and Repeat were sitting on a wall. Pete fell off. Who was left? | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Winning! And with Patsy Cline in the background? It just doesn’t get any better than that. Thanks, my unfinished friend!

  3. I can’t believe I find out in a public forum that you’ve never seen Sweet Dreams. Is there anything else you are hiding from me? This must be remedied, and pronto. I can quote that movie like the Blues Brothers. I’ve probably seen it as many times.

  4. Congratulations to the winners — I’ll be checking to see what they won (such a mystery!)

  5. Thanks – I can’t wait to see what I won! And I’m very curious to read Game of Thrones, too, but it will have to wait for the summer, I think.

    • A good idea to wait, because it’s a chunkster, and I have a feeling the kind of book one gets hooked into reading the next and then the next…and then suddenly your month is gone. 🙂 Or your week, in your case. 🙂

  6. Just thinking about having two series going at once makes my brain hurt. And I went to bed early last night! I’m not even sure I’ve heard of Game of Thrones?

    Crawling back under that rock… 😉

    • Glad to hear you made it to bed early. Guess your husband didn’t have to be too mean to you. 😉

      As for the rock comment, I’m surprised I had heard of it, to be honest. I’m usually out of the loop on these things.

  7. Yippee!! Congrats to all the winners!

  8. Yippee! I won something. A book! Yippee!

    Thank you , Unfinished. I’ll send you my address.

  9. Yay ! Congratulations to the Winners !

    Wait… they’re all women !

    Un.faire !
    Un.faire !
    We demand a re.count !
    We demand a re.count !

    No wonder I can’t get my self to read any Harry Potter Books… my attention span lasts only 200 pages. It’s the size of the books that’s putting me off eh ! LOL

  10. I love Patsy Cline’s Crazy, and that reminds me to watch (for probably the twentieth time!) the DVD for Sweet Dreams.

    Yes, I want to take a break from reading today and watch a few things on my DVR.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  11. How about if you add a fifth prize winner? How about me?

    I just finished up readathon (well, ten hours of it, anyway) and I didn’t win anything. I never do.

    I read ten books yesterday, all about New York. Just before I fell asleep I started a non-NY book, Poser, which turns out to be so good that I can’t stop reading it today.

    Not sure Poser would be a hit with the non-female readers out there. (Just a cautionary note.)

    Enjoy your new series. And don’t feel guilt just because you changed your mind (though you don’t really sound like you are feeling guilt). We can do what we want; we are the grownups. (It’s my mantra.)

    • I’m sorry that you didn’t win here either. If I had known, I would have fixed it for you (and Meleah, whom I told earlier I would fix it for too 😉 ).

      Oh, I haven’t changed my mind. I’m still going to finish the Harry Potter series. It’s just on the backburner. As for being grownups, speak for yourself, lady :P.