Gallery

I’m living driven to distraction

Last night about 1 a.m., I woke up because I forgot to do something at work. So after slipping on a coat (I just left my pajamas on) and shoes and getting my keys and going out to the car, I drove to the library to do it. It’s not important what it was, but what was important that the teenage girl who works with me was checking out her own books at the end of the night and got me distracted from something I was supposed to do before I left for the night.

I couldn’t get to sleep after I got home because I realized that I’ve lost my focus on a lot of things lately. I have lost myself not only mentally, but also physically and spiritually. I’ve reneged on almost all the promises and resolutions I’ve made this year via Motivation Monday and Flashback Friday posts, with maybe a few exceptions. I’m not going to recount them here with links. It’s bad enough that I know the specifics, if I think about them for a moment, which I’m not going to do right now, thank you very much.

I haven’t exercised regularly either physically or spiritually, and the only mental exercise in which I’ve engaged, if you want to call it that, on a regular basis is playing games on Facebook. I’ve read a total of 12 books this year and not finished almost half a dozen.  I have a difficult time keeping up with the blogs in my Google Reader.  Most of the time I become so frustrated because I have too many of which I’m trying to keep track that I just don’t read or comment on any.The only thing I seem to be able to concentrate at one time is 24-minute episodes of Cheers, which I’ve recently rediscovered thanks to Netflix Watch Instantly.

I’d write more, but even now I’m feeling distracted. I have to get ready to go to work at the library again. At least, I’m not the “senior person” on the schedule tonight. I can zone out listening to tunes on my iPod Shuffle as I shelve books, CDs, cassettes, MP3s, videos and DVDs…which reminds me I need to go recharge my iPod Shuffle, maybe add a few new tunes.

Have you ever felt distracted, like you’ve lost your focus and can’t get it back? What do you do to get it back? Me? I’m not sure what I’m going to do yet. I’m too distracted to think about it.

REMINDER: In honor of my third-year blogging anniversary, I’m having a GIVEAWAY. Just click on the previous link for more information and then leave a comment for your chance to win one of three book packages. You still have until 11:59 PM PST, Friday, April 8, to enter.

32 responses to “I’m living driven to distraction

  1. It could be the long winter, as on Commenter suggested.

    Many of us feel pulled/distracted by all the technology that’s always ON and always calling to us. I have thoughts of going “off line” for a specific time (unplugged Sundays?), but I don’t think I could do it.

    Hope you get out of the funk soon!

  2. I just started a new job that’s totally upended my whole lifestyle (in some ways for the better, in some ways not) and I’m trying to find a way to make it all work. Focus is so important; I don’t know how I’m going to keep everything straight, at least for the time being.

  3. Pingback: Patron of the Week: Ms. Here’s-The-Clue-Phone.Oh-For-Me?Yeah-You.Really?Yeah-Really. | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  4. I know exactly what you mean. I am able to focus at work but only because I keep meticulous notes and have a great organizational system.
    But at home…. I can’t read, movies are too long, mostly I nap and watch Sopranos on DVD from Netflix. I have no concentration. I wish I could at least read. I hope this passes for the both of us!

  5. I’ve been feeling A LOT like that too these days. I can’t seem to get focused, or even worse STAY focused. I’m blaming the erratic weather. While I have been keeping up with going for morning walks – I haven’t been keeping up with writing blog posts, or reading others. I am really going to put my best foot forward this week!

  6. I feel out of focus right now.
    Truth is, I have for awhile.
    It’s as if my mind is a wheel that won’t stop spinning and the words twist and turn and don’t come and my brain is dry.
    I think I’m overstimulated and trying to hard and worried what other people think and comparing myself and not going within enough.
    Maybe. I don’t know.
    I just trust my Universe will right itself and I can once again concentrate.

    • I think you described how I’m feeling also perfectly.

      Sometimes, like you mentioned in your post “Why I’m Here,” you have to unplug and refocus on what you want and why you’re here. It’s not just an existential question. It’s a practical question: Why am I here blogging? For me, I hope it’s that somebody hears me and relates to what I’m saying. Maybe that person or those persons can realize they’re not the only ones who have those thoughts. We all have similar thoughts, sometimes crazy, sometimes blue, but somehow we carry on…the Universe does right itself and we once again can concentrate.

  7. I didn’t finish reading this post because I was too distracted. 😉

    Actually, this is very typical of me. Strangely enough pregnancy has caused me to really slow down because I CAN’T do so many things at one time like usual. It’s been kind of nice and relaxing. Sometimes you just have to let certain things go and simplify. Sounds like you just need to let a few things go and not try to do SO much. It’s OK!

  8. I’m with Carrie and Linda. Mother Nature’s been particularly mean this spring. Makes me depressed. I’m anxious for the nice weather and getting out there and doing stuff in it like swimming, golfing, walking, biking, etc. I gotta get off this couch soon before I go outta my head…or sprout roots.

  9. It’s the winter overload. I went bonkers with 23 straight days of rain. When the weather improves and you get more light, you’ll feel better. And get rid of clutter in your house. It adds to the clutter in our brains. Help the Missus get rid of stuff.

  10. I think I’m experiencing a similar thing, which is why I’ve been discarding and reorganizing things; it seems like every corner I excavate and every bag of stuff I get rid of I feel a little more peaceful. I’m trying to SEE things we’ve been tripping over for months and try to make a decision about them and then discard them or give them away. Hopefully turning our house into a home instead of a messy magpie nest will help you and me both.

  11. It sounds like total overload — the job, the blogs, the responsibilities, the tasks, etc. It sounds like time to reassess and focus on the major priorities, and not try to do everything. The goals are too huge. Try to trim down to a realistic number of tasks, and make sure to get enough sleep.
    Insomnia and not sleeping enough will mess up every single thing in one’s life, create memory and cognitive problems like crazy. So that is a priority.

    • It sounds like it is total overload, but it’s really not. I have two part-time jobs. However, you’re right about reassessing and focusing on the major priorities. Sleep hasn’t been easy either. Thanks for the advice.

  12. sounds like information overload coupled with sluggishness brought on by too much winter and not enough fresh air. I think I have it too.

    • Unfortunately, I think you’ve hit the nail on the head there, Cheryl. Hopefully, it won’t snow on next weekend’s Easter Egg hunt here in town and we’ll have some fresh air then. 🙂

  13. Oh no! I can’t believe you went back to work at 1am…….it must have been very important. Nothing gets me out of bed in the middle of the night except a bathroom call…LOL

    I hope it is temporary. Sounds like depression perhaps?

  14. I’ve been feeling the same way for the past month or so. I haven’t been focusing on my resolutions either like I should have. I don’t know what’s going on but I want it to stop before it becomes worst.

  15. I’m convinced it’s spring fever – or the fact that the weather doesn’t know it’s spring! It snowed at our house today. And I just started my New Year’s resolutions, so there’s still time, right?

  16. Oh yes, I am currently going through my life with the feeling of having no definite aim !

    I though I had all my plans well laid out during Christmas and even discussed it with my family.
    Unfortunately, those plans were beginning to fall apart already in February.

    So now, I’m just letting days go by… hoping for a miracle !

  17. Hey, thanks for the pingback. Still trying to figure out the other causes of my distraction and where the time goes. I’m too young to have this kind of memory issue. When you figure it out, let me know 😉

    • Zementa showed your blog post as a pingback, and I thought it looked like it dealt with what I was feeling.

      Oh, as soon as I figure it out, you’ll be the first to know. 😉