Gallery

The Goblet of Fire, North by Northwest and…hey, a GIVEAWAY, that’s right, I said a GIVEAWAY

The Sunday Salon.com I just looked at where I was last week as of this time and learned I’m no further along than I was. I’m still reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and I’m still thinking I might take a short breather to catch up with one or more of the reading challenges with which I’m involved: Agatha Christie, Baker Street or Haruki Murakami, and then dive back in sometime before the final movie comes out this summer.

I’m about halfway through The Goblet of Fire and will try to get to some more today between watching Cheers on Netflix Instant, which was just recently added. Also coming to Netflix Instant are Frasier and Star Trek, which means my slow reading start to this year only will continue. Unfortunately, Netflix is taking away Dexter, which my wife and I were just beginning to enjoy.

On top of that, thanks to a group of book bloggers (of all people),  I’m watching Alfred Hitchcock films with them on Twitter. On Saturday, April 9, at 10 p.m. Central Time, we’ll be watching North by Northwest, and you’re welcome to join us if you want to get distracted from your reading like we will be or take a break from the readathon. The hashtag will be #Hitchcock.

One last note for today’s post, and this is the most important link of them all: in honor of my third-year blogging anniversary, I’m having a GIVEAWAY. Just  click on the previous link for more information and then leave a comment for your chance to win one of three book packages. Well, what are you still doing here? Go, go, go already. Away with you!

If you actually still are here, before you go, answer me this (and this question might shock you since I never ask it on Sundays): What are you reading today and this week? And in addition to the normal question: What is your latest TV addiction?

20 responses to “The Goblet of Fire, North by Northwest and…hey, a GIVEAWAY, that’s right, I said a GIVEAWAY

  1. Pingback: Taking a break from one series to start another?!?! — and winners of giveaway announced (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. By the way, I ADORE Dexter. I also love “The US of Tara”.

  3. I’m reading a book called “The Paris Wife” and enjoying it a lot! I don’t know the author but it’s on the NY Times BS List. (On Kindle, I find it hard to keep track of authors and titles.)

    My addiction is “Justified”. I adore that program. It puts me a little in mind of “Deadwood” and I also loved that.

  4. What….Netflix is taking away Dexter? FOR SHAME. Thankfully, we still have Showtime, because I could NOT live without Dexter!

  5. I just started Stranger in a Strange Land for my book club this month.

    For TV I’m into the Amazing Race, Modern Family and Raising Hope. Lots of others I watch but those are my favorites.

    Congrats on your 3rd Blogoversary!

  6. What? They’re taking away Dexter? That makes one more blood slide for the collection!

    I’m reading Cesar Milan this week in anticipation of adding a new canine to the household. As for my intellectually stimulating audio-visual pursuits… my humanoid child and I were having a Pretender fest while he was home for spring break last week. Love me some Jarod and Sidney and Miss Parker.

  7. Netflix is dropping Dexter?!? No!!! My husband and I are thinking about dropping our cable and using Netflix to continue with favorite series, but the loss of Dexter would be unfortunate. It is such a great series. Darn.

  8. I’ve gotten back into BBC’s Being Human! Loved the first season, but didn’t like the second (I stopped watched maybe halfway through it). Decided to give the third season a go, and I’m back in love.

  9. Latest TV addiction: Rewatching Torchwood before the next season starts. And then will catch up on latest season of MadMen via Netflix. Also? I’m caught up on Potter books, but not Potter movies.

  10. North By Northwest is such an awesome film! Got it from Netflix a couple of years ago. I’m stoked for Cheers being available for streaming on Netflix. I think I’m going to start watching a few episodes of season 1 tonight. That may be my new addicting show!

    As for what I’m reading, I just finished Pride and Prejudice just a few short moments ago, and this week I’ll be starting Bill O’Reilly’s Pinheads and Patriots.

  11. I’d love to join you guys on a Hitchcock film, but probably not the 9th- I’ll be movied out after our LOTR marathon. And Frasier on Watch Instantly?! You’ve made my day. 🙂

  12. I love Alfred Hitchcock! I am planning on watching Strangers on a Train after actually reading the story it was based on this coming week! I discovered quite by accident that Patricia Highsmith wrote that story, along with another interesting story brought to the big screen- The Talented Mr. Ripley.

  13. Happy third anniversary! I have to say, my husband and I are without any current t.v. addictions. The last show we watched was a British mini-series called First Among Equals, which seemed so incredibly dry at first but somehow became compelling.

  14. I’ve just about decided to spend the whole day on my front porch, holding a book (in case someone passes by and wonders at me frittering away my day). It’s a perfect spot to drink my coffee and breathe.

    I don’t watch tv. Gave it up in 2003. I do love to rent and watch movies or series that have been recommended to me.

    Happy blogiversary! I’m off to get in the running for your prize. Congratulations.

  15. I have several favorite TV shows, but my consistent favorite has been The Good Wife, along with Parenthood. Thanks to the DVR, I don’t have to miss either one.

    This week, I’ll be reading Mothers & Daughters, Sing You Home, Pictures of You, and finishing up My Hollywood.

    I still plan to start the Harry Potter series…sometime.

    Thanks for visiting my Sunday Salon.

    • The Good Wife: Is that the one with Julianne Marguiles (sp?)? I’ve seen previews for it when I’m over at my parents who have cable, and thought it would look good, plus I like her. Maybe some day.

      A little more action and a lot less conversation on that Harry Potter promise. 😉

  16. I might join you for the Hitchcock movie. That is if I’m not sleep from all the reading I plan on doing. Today I’m reading Their Eyes Were Watching God. It’s pretty good so far.

    I don’t have a TV addiction. There are a few shows that I enjoy but I watch them only when I remember to: Supernatural, The Closer, The Next 48 Hours, and Hoarders when I can stomach it. 😉

    Happy blogiversary!

    • I tried Their Eyes Were Watching God a few years ago, but couldn’t get into it. That said, some day, some year 😉 maybe I’ll try it again.

      I’ve always wanted to watch Supernatural, but just haven’t gotten to it yet…

      …and we’d love to have you join us for the Hitchcock movie. The more, the merrier. Unfortunately, it’s not available on Netflix Instant. 😦