Gallery

Wishing winter would die already, but glad I’m still alive

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and usually ask the following questions: For what are you least grateful this past week? For what are you most grateful this past week?

Least grateful

I’m least grateful for the weather. Even though Spring was supposed to have arrived two weeks ago, here in northcentral Pennsylvania we’re still waiting for it to arrive. I wrote a few weeks ago about how winter couldn’t bring me down. Now almost a month later, I confess I was wrong. It can, and it has. That bastard. But I’m hopeful that he will die soon, and that, in this case, it will be short and painless for all involved, but especially me.

MOST GRATEFUL

Like last week, what I’m most grateful for this week is yesterday. But instead of learning that The Wife and I had received $14 back from Uncle Sam for last week’s “yesterday,” I celebrated my third anniversary on this blog for this week’s “yesterday.” In case, you missed it, click on the last link and enter your chance to win one of three book packages I’m giving away.

For what are you least grateful and most grateful this past week?

Oops, didn’t publish last night. No wonder I wasn’t getting any comments on this one. D’oh (smacking myself in forehead).

 

9 responses to “Wishing winter would die already, but glad I’m still alive

  1. I’m SO done with the cold and snow already. Ugh.

  2. I feel a little bad saying this, but I’m wishing for a little bit of cool weather down here. Not winter, but we’ve already spiked into the high 80s and our a/c went out last weekend. So, last night it was 80 degrees IN THE HOUSE. Not fun when you’re 9 months pregnant and it’s only APRIL. Love that we have a short winter in Texas but don’t love how damn long summer is. Ok, I’ll end my complaints about our warm weather…

    Off to read your 3 year post. I’m a bit behind but don’t remember seeing it in my GReader this past week?

    • It might not have been in YOUR reader, but it was there. 🙂

      I imagine that wouldn’t be fun. 9 months…er, wait, that means you’re expecting any day now? Keep us posted…

      • Yes–just didn’t realize that’s what it was from the title. 😉 Already commented.

        Due date is 23rd, so technically any day. Hoping she holds out a little longer so my maternity leave lasts longer through the summer. Muh ha ha ha ha ha.

        • I know, I know. I should have made more obvious, especially with the giveaway, but getting a pretty good response from the links back to it in later posts.

          23rd of April? An Easter weekend baby? That would be nice. Better than a Christmas baby, right? 🙂

  3. Dear Cold Person,

    Could you package up some of that snow and send it down here in the form of water?

    Thx.

    Signed,

    Your Favorite Drought-Ridden Texan

  4. I’m grateful that we have the cheapest of cheap dates (a firehouse banquet) to go to tonight, especially since its the one with the best food in the county. I’m also grateful that the snow is melting. And I see green outside.