Gallery

After three years, I’m not hanging up the phone and starting over (don’t roll the credits yet)

I know you’re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you’re afraid. You’re afraid of us. You’re afraid of change. I don’t know the future. I didn’t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it’s going to begin. I’m going to hang up this phone, and then I’m going to show these people what you don’t want them to see. I’m going to show them a world … without you. A world without rules or controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible. Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you.

Neo in “The Matrix

Sometimes I wish I could hang up the phone and start over (cue the music) as in the movie “The Matrix,” and today, in essence, that is what I am doing as I begin this new blog.

With those words that’s  how I began this blog — three years ago to the day.

Now am I hanging up the phone and starting over (cue the music) again? Short answer is no. Longer answer is sort of, but not really.

I’m continuing with my themed days of Motivation Monday, Midweek Review and Flashback Friday, and participating in The Sunday Salon, if for nothing else, my dogged pursuit of structure. However, my other themes that I have called “Of The Week,” I’m changing to “Of The Month,” namely “Patron of the Week,” and “Captcha of the Week.” Basically, as I looked back at Patron of the Week, I realized I really only was doing it once a month, so I thought why not just make it once a month. As for Captcha of the Week, I haven’t kept up with it hardly at all. I’ll probably call it Captchas of the Month now.

Over the last three years, a lot has changed. This blog is no longer a portal to three other blogs and a fourth blog called Unfinished Rambler. I have killed all of those other blogs but one: just a (running) fool, which I started in 2005, mainly because I can’t as it was my original WordPress.com blog. It’s not on the “grid,” so to speak, but it is still here on my dashboard with WordPress.com. I do have a “microblog” called Unfinished on posterous, but in essence, I have reduced my blogging to this one blog and I am one unfinished person in an unfinished universe.

Well, while that’s all well and good, the question you’re all asking yourself is, “So what’s in it for me?” meaning am I having a giveaway of some kind in celebration of my blog’s anniversary?

GRAFFITI YES
Photo by Andy Welsh on Flickr

This might shock you, but I’m not going to give away plates of this:

Chonburi International Art Exhibition - Sal Randolph - Free Money - Edith and Jessada Arrange Money
Photo by Marshall Astor on Flickr

Instead I’m going to give away…and this might shock you…

BOOKS (sorry, I couldn’t find the just right graphic).

Since I don’t have contacts in the publishing world, I’m not giving away books from publishers. I’m giving away a variety of books from my shelves (still to be determined, you’ll have to trust my impeccable judgment) dealing with the subjects of this blog: body, mind and soul.

Body: Books about running, other forms of exercise and diet. Will include a few cookbooks, thanks to my wife.

Mind: Books from any genre, including poetry, mystery, science fiction, nonfiction. Basically anything, except Satanism (see note below).

Soul: Books on spirituality, specifically on Christian spirituality, but not limited to that. Only thing not included will be Satanism. Sorry, all you fans of Anton LaVey.

The details (stolen verbatim with a few minor changes from Carrie at the blog Books and Movies with her permission):

~ I’m shipping the books myself, so this giveaway is open in the US and Canada only.

~ To enter, please leave a comment below. I will provide a link to this post at the bottom of each post up to, and including, next Friday, to remind those who might miss this post today of the giveaway.

~ One entry per person. Duplicate entries will be deleted.

~ All entries must be received by 11:59 p.m. PST, Friday, April 8, 2011. On Saturday, April 9th, I will use Random.org to choose three winners. The first winner drawn will win the books on body; the second, books on mind; and the third, books on soul.

In honor of my anniversary, I let Zemanta go crazy with its recommended links and tags today, in case you’re wondering.

One added rule: Immediate family, ahem, that means you, wife and sister, are not eligible for the giveaway.


43 responses to “After three years, I’m not hanging up the phone and starting over (don’t roll the credits yet)

  1. Pingback: Taking a break from one series to start another?!?! — and winners of giveaway announced (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I’m very curious to know what books you have on your shelves. And congrats on the anniversary.

  3. Is this only open to book bloggers? I hope not, because you were right, this feels so good.

    • Okay, you are officially a freak.

      But you still are entered into the drawing for the book packages. 🙂 This isn’t just for book bloggers, especially since I write about more than just books.

      Sorry, no movies, though….well, unless I decide to throw in one or two. We’ll see.

  4. Congratulations, you! Great job getting to your 3rd blogiversary. Keep up the great work & let’s have lots more years of blogging!

  5. Pingback: I’m living driven to distraction | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  6. Don’t enter me I just wanted to say yay for 3 years!

  7. Congrats on three years!! I’m glad to have reconnected this past year during BBAW–it’s a little bit amazing where the journey of blogging will take you. I’m glad that you’re feeling much more settled in your unfinished universe. I see blogging as kind of an evolution–why should we be doing the same things that we were three and four years ago? Certainly we’re not entirely the same people! Or at least I like to think that people will change just a little bit over the course of years. Oh wait, that’s kind of the point of your blog, huh? That we’re unfinished. And I think that’s fantastic.

    No need to enter me as I’m trying to whittle down my own library. Though I am tempted by some of the running books you might have?

    • Yep. The point is never finished…but hopefully becoming more of a complete person every day, every year.

      You’re going to be entered whether you like it or not. 🙂 So there :P.

  8. I can’t believe you wouldn’t agree to allow the wife to enter your giveaway. Just think of all that postage you’ll save!

    Congrats on the bloggiversary (or however you spell it!)

    • Same with the sister too. 🙂

      Yeah, however, that word is spelled, which is why I avoided using it, as I mentioned on Facebook.

      BTW, I live in Appalachia and resent your remarks there. 😉

  9. Congrats on 3 years of Blogging! 3 years is a big accomplishment when our lives get busier and time seems to slip away faster.

    Thanks for hosting the giveaway!

    P.S. Have you told your wife you’re including a few of those cookbooks she’s added to your shelves?

  10. Three years. I’m happy you took up blogging as yours is one of my favorite spots to visit each week.

    I’d love to win a book prize on body or mind or spirit. Thank you for offering this medley of prizes. And thank you for your blog, unfinishedperson.

  11. Pingback: The Goblet of Fire, North by Northwest and…hey, a GIVEAWAY, that’s right, I said a GIVEAWAY | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  12. Pingback: Wishing winter would die already, but glad I’m still alive | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  13. Happy Anniblogobirthdayversary to my new best friend!! I’m going to assume you had mint chocolate ice cream with your cake? 🙂

    • I didn’t have cake, but Thursday, the day of this post, I actually did go get mint chocolate chip ice cream…I think I’ve had it on my mind for some reason. Hmmmm. I wonder why. 😉

  14. Happy Blogoversary!!!!

  15. Yay! A Blog Birthday Party! With Books! Can’t think of a better way to celebrate!

  16. Oh boy oh boy! Prizes! Yippee!

    Congrats on three years of rambling and not finishing.

    Books on running? Cool.

    Evil Twin is hoping for a book on casting spells.

  17. Aw. YAY! Happy 3rd blogoversary, Unfinished Person!

    • Thanks, Meleah.

      I’d like to say I’ll see you tonight at the Slumber Party, but the Wife and I got a dinner we have to go to. 😦 I mean :). Yay, free food. A firemen’s banquet to which she, as a 9-1-1 dispatcher, was invited.

  18. Happy happy to you, oh awesome colleague and friend! Keep writing, and if I win, I would like a book on spirituality please…;)

    • Thanks, Checla. 😉

      No promises, but next time I see you, I might give you a book on spirituality (don’t worry, Christian spirituality, most likely 🙂 ). I’ll see what I can find on the shelves that you might be interested in.

      Of course, it might depend on if you win, though.

  19. Congrats on your three years!. I enjoy reading your blog very much. I hope that you will continue to keep it up.

    • I’ll admit that it’s not always easy to keep blogging, especially with the pay I receive. 😉 However, somehow I soldier on, thanks in large part to readers like yourself.

  20. Congratulations, Unfinished. I can’t remember when I first started reading your blog(s), but it was probably about a year and a half ago and I was captivated from the outset by your mix of spirituality, literary insights, observational humor and general taste for the absurd. You’re funny, serious, incredibly honest and you produce work that’s a genuine pleasure to read. Here’s to three more years, eh?

    • Mike: That really means a lot, coming from a writer of your caliber. Really. I joke with you on Facebook, but seriously, I love you, man.

      I’d say more, but I’m becoming a little verklempt here.

  21. Books ! This makes me very happy ! They are the best kind of give away !
    Fingers crossed, I hope I am in the first category.

    Three years of blogging ! I imagined you’ve blogged atleast for 5 years. You’re one of those few that really get around in the social network and you can talk about anything. 🙂

    Happy Blog-Thingy !

    • I actually have been blogging for six years, started in 2005 with my blog Just A (Running Fool), and then added a few more blogs until I’ve finally whittled down to this one (or two 🙂 ).

      I don’t know whether to take that as a compliment that I can talk about anything. Are you saying that I talk too much? 😉

  22. So glad you’re continuing to blog – and congrats on 3 years! It’s been fun discussing books and TV with you and I expect there will many more insightful and ridiculous conversations to come. 🙂

  23. U.P.: I think you have to be one of my original blogger buds. I came across you in an earlier version of HBDC.It’s been an interesting ride following your musings and how, and on which blog, you presented them. But the one constant thing has been your dedication to sharing these wonderful tidbits of information about your life, your thoughts, and the DVDs, music and books you’ve used to stimulate your mind…and ours. Happy 3rd Blog thingy, U.P. And here’s to many more.

    • Nice try, NND, but I’m only giving away books, not DVDs and music. 🙂

      Oh, and I’m not giving away my life and my thoughts…oh, wait, already did that.

      And thanks for being there. I consider you a good blogging bud too, even if you are Canadian. 😉

  24. What a great idea to have a giveaway on your blogoversary. And Happy Blogoversary to you, by the way.