Gallery

You’ve got to walk before you start to run

Each Monday, I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. For 2011, I also am including a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

No more knee excuses

This morning as I was returning from taking my wife to work, I heard the following report on NPR that running won’t kill your knees. I won’t repeat (plagiarize) what was said there, but only will say that this is just what I needed to hear — and I think what many of you over 40 need to hear too. In the back of my mind, I’ve always used this as an excuse why I’m not running as much as I once was (from next to nil to nil). This report helps to blow that excuse out of the water, with the only caveat that I probably should start by walking. However, that’s not news to me for when I lost weight previously through diet and exercise, I didn’t do it by immediately running laps at the nearest high school track. I started first by walking. So to that end…

Yes to walking first

I’m going to commit to walking at least three times this week for half an hour each time. After all, you’ve heard it said many times many ways (Merry Christmas to you?! no, no, no, not that) you have to walk before you run and so that’s what I am going to do. I am making no commitments to any races later in the summer. I’m nowhere near ready for any of that, especially considering I’m at least 60 pounds (if not more, thanks  for reminding me) overweight. However, I am ready to start by walking. Who’s with me?

6 responses to “You’ve got to walk before you start to run

  1. I tried to run to the elevator yesterday and thought my hips were going to break apart. 😉 Though I have a 30 pound bowling ball excuse.

    I ran before I was pregnant but know that once baby comes I’ll have to start all over again–by walking. And that’s OK. You’re right, you have to walk before you can run and it’s a damn good place to start.

    Good luck to you!

  2. I’m with you. My husband and I were talking about it this weekend as we were on a long hike – we both feel to keep moving is the key! I’m afraid once I start slowing down is when I will start falling apart. I don’t hold onto anything to get up and down either. I want to stand up without assistance for as long as possible.

  3. I am with you on walking. I have started but need motivation.

  4. Im with you! I’m on my 3rd week of “doing things differently” and that includes putting on my “outfit” and going “outside” to take a brisk walk every Monday-Friday!

  5. I’m with you B! I need motivation to get some junk outta my trunk 😉

    S.

  6. I am with you! I am 80 pounds overweight. I have lost 40 but I have a long way to go. I’ve been eating a lot healthy but I am not moving much since I fell ill. One of my goals is to run race but I know walking is the first step.

    Great post. New follower.