Gallery

Got my mojo workin’

On Sunday, I talked about what a difference a week made between last week where I had lost my reading mojo again and this week where I’ve found it again, thanks to committing to reading the Harry Potter series. I’m already on the third book, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, and loving the series. I don’t know why I didn’t continue reading the series after reading the first one almost three years ago.

My favorite passage thus far has to be this one from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, a letter to Headless Nick on his not being accepted into the Headless Hunt:

We only can accept huntsmen whose heads have parted company with their bodies. You will appreciate that it would be impossible otherwise for members to participate in hunt activities such as Horseback Head-Juggling and Head Polo. It is with the greatest regret, therefore, that I must inform you that you do not fulfill our requirements. With very best wishes, Sir Patrick Delaney-Podmore.

I don’t know why, but I almost was literally rolling on the floor laughing my ass off when I read that. Maybe it’s because with the way the weather has been in our “neck of the woods,” I sorely needed a laugh. Whatever it was, it and the series hit just at the right time to get my mojo workin’.

Have you ever been pulled out of a reading slump by a certain book or series? If so, what was the book or series that did it for you?

7 responses to “Got my mojo workin’

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter and I are getting along splendidly, thanks for asking | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Sometimes all it takes is one book to get your reading mojo back. I hope it keeps up for you.

  3. Glad to hear your mojo is working again! Would you believe I’ve never read any of the Harry Potter series?

  4. It’ s really funny, I couldn’t read the HP Series. I got the first book and tried and I couldn’t get past the first few pages. I saw the films and loved the first one. All of them were good, but the first was the best. I felt the same way about Lord of the Rings.

    When I like a writer, I try to buy everything they have ever written so I can read them all. That works for me, but I do get disappointed some times.

    • The problem for me with the first one was that I watched the movie first and so was bogged down by comparing and contrasting the book and the movie. Now, though, a few years later, I’m not remembering the movies as much – plus I haven’t seen all of them up to the last one yet. I think I’ve seen about three, maybe part of the fourth.

  5. The prisoner was one of my favorites in the series.

    For me after five years of reading classics, plays, and textbooks, the series that brought me back to reading for fun was the Diana Gabaldon Outlander series. It perked up my imagination and still worked my over-stimulated intellectual mind by being the perfect combination of fantasy and historical fiction.

    • I’ve been tempted by that series too.

      I think the next series, though, I might start will be the George R.R. Martin series that begins with A Game of Thrones. I think I need to escape into more fantasy. 🙂

      My wife’s favorite was The Goblet of Fire.