Gallery

Excuse the hell out of me

Yesterday before I even realized what I was saying, I let the above words slip from my lips. I volunteer at a senior center on Monday and Wednesday mornings, and yesterday morning the driver who delivers meals to the center was late. As a result, all the volunteers and the manager were a little on edge and in the midst of all the edginess, I snapped at the manager with those words after she told me I was wrong about something.

Luckily for me, I don’t think she heard me. Maybe I said it under my breath or maybe I didn’t and she chose to ignore it as a comment that was said “in the heat of the moment.” Regardless, afterward, I felt bad about it, but not bad enough to go tell her I was sorry, because I wasn’t sure if she heard me and if she didn’t, I sure as…well, heck…didn’t want to tell her that I had hurled those words in her direction.

It did make me realize I need to think before I speak…and also not let “the heat of the moment” get to me.

Relax.

Take a deep breath.

It will all work out. People will get their meals when they get them.

You can only do one thing at a time.

Those are among the things that I have to remember next time – as well as getting something to eat before I go into volunteer. Not that it’s an excuse, but I think that “excuse the hell out of me” might have been my stomach talking: “Feed me, Seymour.”

HaveΒ  you ever said something you immediately regretted? If so, how did you deal with the aftermath or did you just let it slide like I did?

6 responses to “Excuse the hell out of me

  1. Oh I need to remember to think BEFORE I speak. I am constantly saying things in the heat of the moment. Just the other day, I was rude to my grandfather. And just as soon as the words left my lips, I felt like a jerk-off. I immediately apologized, and he forgave me – but five days later, I STILL feel badly about it.

  2. I run my mouth all the freakin’ time. Always have. My friends often tell new people who meet me that I have Tourettes, as though they hope that will excuse my behavior. Maybe they’re right. I’ve gotten better lately though… I think the meds are helping. πŸ˜‰

  3. Although I know I’m supposed to take a deep breath before reacting/responding, that doesn’t mean I always do. It’s best to apologize as soon as possible, explaining you’re just not yourself today. Most people have been there, felt that.

    I also loved that title!

    • I don’t even know exactly why I went off…that’s the strange thing. I just did.

      It’s not a stressful volunteering position, but sometimes personalities conflict – as with any job.

  4. Dude, even through online words, you have sounded WAY stressed lately. I hope you can find some rest and catharsis some way. I recommend herb tea. Lots and lots of herb tea.

    (The title was funny, though– I love that you’re still not sure if she heard you or not.) πŸ™‚

    • Well, you know what…

      …yeah…

      …excuse the hell out of me. πŸ˜‰ Kidding.

      I’m actually not that stressed. I think it’s just winter, which hopefully will be over within the next month or two. πŸ™‚