Gallery

No restaurants for rest of Lent

Each Monday, I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. For 2011, I also am including a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

No restaurants for rest of lent

This is actually Tom's Restaurant, NYC. Famous...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve already committed to performing simple acts of kindness for Lent, but now I thought I’d commit to something on the physical side. This one is pretty simple: no restaurants for the rest of Lent. That might not seem like such a big deal, but when you only can eat fish on Fridays and sometimes your wife is still working when you get home from work and you feel lazy, you just want to run to the local restaurant for its Friday fish fry. At least, I do and that’s what I did last Friday. However, I know with a little planning, I can do it as I can say…

Yes to home-cooked and homemade meals

grilled-cheese

Why I say “home-cooked” and “homemade” is because I’m not much of a cook, I’ll admit, but I can make myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich or a grilled cheese sandwich and a can of tomato soup. I also can throw a frozen pizza in the oven (oooooh). So I’ll cling to life and sustenance somehow, even if it’s by the skin of my teeth:

Do you eat out too much? What are you going to do about it? Anything? No? Well then fine, be that way.

7 responses to “No restaurants for rest of Lent

  1. I am a really good cook. My husband and I both prefer what I cook to the fare at most restaurants, even the expensive ones. Last summer, we had a party with about 50 people and I decided to hire a catering firm to handle the food. I had so many complaints from friends that “it’s not as good as what you make” that I probably won’t do that again. But if I’m home alone, I live on grilled cheese, fried egg sandwiches, the occasional hot dog, english muffins with cheese melted on top, and fruit. I am far too lazy to make a nice chicken marsala for me. Even frying a hamburger seems dismal. But I don’t want to go out to eat either. Beg your wife to make up some things that can be frozen and heated up for when she’s gone. Mac and cheese is always good too.

  2. I definitely eat out way too much. And, I should take some of your advice.

  3. Seeing the picture of “Tom’s Restaurant” I was reminded of Susan Vega’s song http://maniar.tumblr.com/post/3863980406

    🙂

  4. It isn’t as if your wife isn’t a halfway decent cook that occasionally bangs together a good meal for you…when she is home, that is.