Gallery

One love, one blood, one life — one book? (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com The first step is to admit you have a problem.

I am a monogamous reader.

There, I’ve said it.

Whew!

Image via Wikipedia

I feel so much better now.

I’ve tried to read more than one book at a time. I really have. I even made a resolution earlier this year to commit to being a book whore. But after posting how I was going to read three books this week and then I haven’t, I’ve come to the conclusion that I am a one book at a time man.

Polygamy Porter

Image by quinn.anya via Flickr

I can’t do polygamy.

If it were a beer…

…oh, wait it is…

…then I could be polygamous.

Ah, who am I kidding? I prefer girlie drinks. It’d be better if it were a wine like Polygamy Port or a mixed drink like, I don’t know, a Long Island Iced Tea…

…which I do like.

Anyway, I digress from what I’ve read this past week and what I’m reading today and this coming week: I finished Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs and now have started The Likeness by Tana French. I did try to read both at one time, but not surprisingly, it just didn’t work.

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I was given a copy of In The Woods as part of a book blogger holiday swap, but hadn’t gotten to the second one yet because I recommended the series (on the basis of the first one) to the patron who recommended The Wild Trees: A Story of Passion and Daring by Richard Preston to me. Since he still had the second one checked out, I got it on loan as an e-book from the library.

I am enjoying it so far and hope to be able to finish it here in the next few days as The Wife will be away on a business trip. In other words, I’m going to be cheating on her with a book or maybe even two if I finish The Likeness.

Hey, maybe I’m judging this polygamy thing too quickly.

So are you a monogamous reader or a polygamous reader? Either way, I’m not one to judge. What are you reading today and what do you plan to read this week?


22 responses to “One love, one blood, one life — one book? (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Dipping my toes into the polygamous pool (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: What a difference a week made (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Great post! Now if I had only seen it before I wrote my post today… So sorry about that. I’ve put a note down at the bottom explaining my error. Serves me right for getting too bogged down in the details of world events this week.

    • Kathmeista: As I mentioned on Twitter, I was joking…sorry that my emoticons don’t always come across as…emoticons. 🙂 By the way, that’s an emoticon. Also the idea has been written about it in the past by other bloggers: not an original idea on my part either. It’s a common thread with which we all have to write about, I think.

  4. I have 2 or 3 three at once… books that is. It’s a terrible habit actually.

  5. Generally speaking, I’m a one book at a time person. Not that I would have a difficult time reading more than one book at a time, I just prefer to do so. Now, while I’m reading Capital, Volume I, I am reading A Companion to Marx’s Capital and am not noticing any drop-off in my reading. However, I don’t think I want to make a habit of it. There just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day. 🙂

  6. I had to write my own post on this topic – thanks for giving me a great idea to steal/borrow – http://booksandmovies.colvilleblogger.com/2011/03/13/the-sunday-salon-march-13-2011-the-monogamy-or-polygamy-edition/

    • I’m not the first one to come up with the topic. It bounces around every so often in the book blogosphere, but I’m glad my post on the topic could help give you an idea for your Sunday Salon post. Likewise, I get inspired by posts I read by other book bloggers, especially those on The Sunday Salon.

  7. Pingback: The Sunday Salon – March 13, 2011 (the “monogamy or polygamy” edition) | BOOKS AND MOVIES

  8. Yet another way that we differ. I read ten, twenty, thirty books at once. Crazy, huh?

    Here’s my Sunday Salon post: http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2011/03/sunday-salon-new-york-new-york.html
    Do you know any good books about New York City?

    • That is crazy.

      I am so single-minded I don’t think I could keep track of all of that.

      How do you do it?

      As for your question about books with New York City, I’ll be over to your blog shortly to comment there.

  9. I read three or four books at the same time sometimes, but if that happens, it’s because I’m not enthralled by any of them. When I find one I love, I may stay up all night to finish it. I don’t really enjoy all non-fiction but there are some wonderful exceptions.

  10. I’m polygamous. Right now I’m reading “The Promise” about Obama’s first year in office during the day. Then at night, I read off my Nook and I’m reading “Gurensey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.” Politics is too heavy a subject at bed time. I have a bunch of other books on my Nook and I often skip around depending on my mood. I just love to read.

    • I have a bunch of books on my Nook too, don’t get me wrong. I recently did have the Guernsey one, but I didn’t make it to yet and so it “went back” to the library (aka disappeared into the ether). I’ll be interested, though, what you thought. My wife loved it.

  11. I was a very slutty, whorish reader but have found that monogamy is not so bad and helps me focus better. But I do need to know where my next man, I mean book is coming from. I can’t finish a book and be in limbo or I get cranky. Which is why I was a bookslut. Sometimes I start a second book enough to know I will like it, then go back to the one I promised fidelity. Is it still cheating? Maybe, but it keeps me sane. Right now I’m reading The Tiger’s Wife but I don’t know what my next read will be. So I have to stray for just a bit

  12. I am a serial monogamist…I think. I do read three or four books in a week, but usually one at a time. Except for one that is on my list today….I’ve been reading it, along with one or two or three other books, because it was a chunkster. And I could only take it in bits and pieces.

    To learn more, here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  13. I am a one book kind of woman. I have tried reading more than one at a time but it never works for me.

  14. I used to be pretty monogamous, but ironically, my husband converted me to book polygamy. I can’t say there aren’t times when I don’t still feel morally ambiguous about it, especially when there’s that one book that just sits next to my bed while all the others get picked up. Funny post!

  15. I like the picture of the beer case … and it’s from Utah eh ? Very interesting.