Gallery

A simple act of kindess redux

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and usually ask the following questions: For what are you least grateful this past week? For what are you most grateful this past week?

Least grateful

Facebook. Even though I joked about it yesterday, I hate the tension, much of it self-created, that Facebook creates…mainly for me in misunderstandings. I won’t go into details to repeat the misunderstandings, but just say that I need to be more careful about what I post.

Sometimes (okay, a lot of the time) I have the tendency to write the first thing that comes to my mind, which usually can be snarky or sarcastic. The thing is snarkiness and sarcasm doesn’t always translate well to print, even with the assistance of emoticons.

MOST GRATEFUL

In last week’s Flashback Friday post, I wrote about being least grateful for being in a spiritual funk over the last few months and being most grateful for a simple act of kindness which I hoped would in turn spur me to simple acts of kindness during this Lenten season. Because of nasty weather last Sunday, we didn’t make it to Mass. However, I have begun reading the Liturgy of the Hours again and even though I didn’t realize it until this morning, I was able to perform one simple act of kindness last night at work.

The short version is a man came into the library to fax a document halfway across the country. The fax got jammed the first time and as a result, I had to try to make sure it was sent before I left, which meant staying late. I wasn’t happy about it, but I realized it was my error for not getting the individual sheets off the fax quick enough so it wouldn’t jam. Finally, I did get it sent. I also have to thank a coworker who stayed with me. He said he was just glad I could help out the man.

***

Of course, whenever I think of describing my customer service experiences, whether wrong or right, I always think of this fake commercial from Saturday Night Live:

So have you ever realized in hindsight a simple act of kindness you  performed from someone even though you might not have known it at the time?

2 responses to “A simple act of kindess redux

  1. I gather you think someone got upset by something you wrote on that Facebook post. Being snarky is part of your charm. Don’t change for anybody. I find you amusing and pretty damned charming. Facebook is actually kind of dumb. But I do it anyway. Eh!

    • Oh, no, I don’t think someone got upset. I know “they” did, but we’ve since made up. I won’t lie, but I sometimes create drama, not always on purpose, but I do it anyway.