Gallery

Reading about redwoods, bones, doppelgängers, home and what you did last summer

This past week, I finished two books: The Wild Trees: A Story of Passion and Daring by Richard Preston and Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs. The former is about professional botanists and amateur naturalists who explored the California redwoods; the latter, the first of the Bones series, about Dr. Temperance Brennan, a forensic anthropologist, which yes, was the basis for the TV show Bones.

The Wild Trees: A Story of Passion and Daring

Image via Wikipedia

A patron at the library recommended the Preston book to me and I felt obliged to read it. I won’t say the subheading of “A Story of Passion and Daring” quite lived up to the billing. However, as I mentioned in a previous entry, “It wasn’t great literature, but it was fascinating learning about a world which I had no idea about. For example, aquatic creatures called copepods live in the redwood canopy as do a species of salamander called the wandering salamander. More fascinating to me, according to Preston, ‘The salamanders apparently breed in the canopy, perhaps living their entire life cycle in the air.'”

Cover Art

Image via Wikipedia

This winter I’ve become addicted to the TV show Bones. I don’t know why, because admittedly the show isn’t a great one (it’s a nice diversion), but I have. So I thought after watching the show, I’d read the series on which the show is based. I had been warned by a few book bloggers that the book was nothing like the show, so not to expect the show. That was all right with me, because I’d prefer the show without all the jumping in and out of bed that the characters seem to do, at least in the first two seasons. The book gives that and more — a Temperance Brennan who is older than the one on TV and who is divorced and has a daughter unlike the single, childless Brennan on TV.

Also unlike the show, this first book was set in Canada, giving it a little more of an international flavor than the TV show which is set around Washington, D.C. I won’t go into a full analysis of how the books and the show differ, but I will say that I like both versions of Bones, though maybe the book version a little bit more because it seems a bit darker than its TV counterpart.

Although I liked the book version, I’ve decided not to jump right into the next one in the series but give myself a break with a few other books: two from the library and one from my TBR shelf, as I set as one of my goals earlier in the year. The two from the library are:

  • The Likeness by Tana French, the second in the Dublin Murder Series. I was given a copy of In The Woods as part of a book blogger holiday swap, but hadn’t gotten to the second one yet because I recommended the series (on the basis of the first one) to the patron who recommended the Preston book to me. Since he still has the second one checked out, I got it on loan as an e-book from the library.
  • At Home: A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson, which I also got on loan as an e-book from the library. I’ve read Bryson’s work in the past and enjoyed it so I thought I’d give it a go.

The book that I chose off my TBR shelf is I Know What You Did Last Summer by Lois Duncan, which I bought a year or two ago at From My Shelf Books at the recommendation of one of its owners Kasey Cox. I know the book was made into a movie with Jennifer Love Hewitt and Sarah Michelle Gellar, but other than that, I don’t know a whole lot about it, other than that it’s short so is one of the reasons I picked it off the shelf earlier today.

I’ve already started the French book and not surprisingly am enjoying it, like I did the first one. Her writing is just brilliant. I have yet to start the Bryson and Duncan book, but I’ll keep you apprised of my progress and probably give you an update on Sunday in my Sunday Salon post. I probably should get more reading done early next week as my wife will be out of town Sunday through Wednesday for training for her job as a 9-1-1 dispatcher. At least, that’s the plan — if I don’t sucked into a Netflix marathon of one kind or another.

So what have you read recently? What are you reading this week?

3 responses to “Reading about redwoods, bones, doppelgängers, home and what you did last summer

  1. Pingback: One love, one blood, one life — one book? (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Deja Dead sounds quite interesting!

    I’ve got two books going, dependent on my mood. One is the collect stories of Eudora Welty, the other is called “The Good German” by Joseph Kanon, and I’m finding his writing voice easy to “hear” and easy to follow.

    Pearl