Gallery

Eight is enough…for now

The Sunday Salon.com This morning I finished my eighth book of the year, The Wild Trees: A Story of Passion and Daring by Richard Preston, about a group of professional botanists and amateur naturalists that explore the California redwoods, and you now know why I deleted my blog, just a (reading) fool. Yes, I did say “eighth” as in…

The number would have been…

except the other three I’ve read I DNFed. I’m not going to lie as I almost DNFEd this one too, because it’s hard getting back up on the bike after having fallen down so many times, but I persevered and finished it. It wasn’t great literature, but it was fascinating learning about a world which I had no idea about. For example, aquatic creatures called copepods live in the redwood canopy as do a species of salamander called the wandering salamander. More fascinating to me, according to Preston, “The salamanders apparently breed in the canopy, perhaps living their entire life cycle in the air.”

Although I am acrophobic to a ridiculous extreme (as a kid, I even hated riding the “kiddie rollercoaster” at a small amusement park near where we lived), I did find it likewise fascinating to read about the botanists and amateur naturalists like Preston who choose to climb the redwoods. I’m glad somebody is brave enough to climb up there to discover new worlds, but I’m glad that somebody isn’t me.

As for my next read, since I have been watching an obscene amount of the TV series Bones (and one of the reasons I haven’t read that much this year), I decided to pick up the first book of the series, Déjà Dead, by Kathy Reichs, the series that inspired the show. With an expected six to eight inches of snow this afternoon here where we live in northcentral Pennsylvania, I should be able to get the book started with no problem.

So what are you reading today (oh, and please don’t tell me about the weather where you are, I really don’t want to hear it. No, no, really, don’t, especially those of you in warmer climes)? Are you obsessed with keeping track of how many books you’ve read each year? Do you feel pressure to read more books than the previous year? Or is it more about quality than quantity? For me, especially since I’ve only read eight books so far this year, I’m definitely in that latter camp. What about you?

20 responses to “Eight is enough…for now

  1. It is “The Confession” and it’s not holding my interest so far.

  2. Pingback: Reading about redwoods, bones, doppelgängers, home and what you did last summer | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I’ve read Philip Margolin’s “Supreme Justice”, Orson Scott Card’s “Treason”, Robert Crais “The Last Detective”, Katie Gates’ “The Sombody Who”, Jon Katz “Izzy and Lenore”, “Terrorist Hunter” by an anonymous woman who went undercover to infiltrate the radical Islamic groups operating in the US, Michael Connlly “Scarecrow”, and James Lee Burke, “The Last Rainbow”. I’m currently reading the latest John Grisham thriller on my new Kindle, but I’ll be damned if I can remember the title of it.

  4. I think I’m a balance (somewhat) between quality and quantity. Some days I’m glancing at my numbers a lot but other days I couldn’t care less because life gets in the way. It does bother me at the end of the year when I see that I’ve read way less than the year before. Especially when there were so many times I could have been reading instead of playing games or daydreaming or doing something silly.

    I hope you’re inside and staying warm! 🙂

    • Hey, I said no weather comments!!! 😉

      But yes, I am inside and staying relatively warm. A little bit of a wind at my back right now through the window, but I’m not out in the middle of it so I really can’t complain…and actually getting a little reading done. No games, no daydreaming (okay, a little), and nothing silly. 🙂

  5. I keep meaning to read something by Kathy Reichs, but so far I haven’t.

    I have vowed to read more of the “chunkster” books on my stacks instead of trying to finish a lot of books. I have resumed reading Freedom today. I started it week before last….

    I’m liking it more the further I get into it.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  6. I tried reading the first Bones book and didn’t like it – but I love the show, so I think that might be the problem. People seem to love one or the other.

    • I’m liking the book and I like the show pretty much, although I’m not as enamored (today’s word of the day, I guess since I just used this in another comment) with it as when I first started. I don’t know if you have to love one or the other. Well, we’ll see…and if you didn’t like the book, then I probably am going to love the book, so thanks for that heads up. 😉

  7. Yep. I’m ashamed to admit that I always go for quantity over quality. Face it: big numbers always make us look good. (Well, unless you are like me and take a CLOSE look at those numbers.)

    Eight is a perfectly acceptable number for a reader. Hey, a man was bragging to me a few days ago that his wife reads twenty books a year. Bragging, I tell you, as if I was going to be impressed. I couldn’t bear to burst his bubble and tell him how many books I read in a year.

    • I’m not as enamored with the numbers as when I first started reading seriously (dare I say deliberately? 🙂 ) a few years ago. Twenty for some people is a good number, especially when you consider many people don’t even read one book a year. Personally I’ll feel good when I get to 20.

  8. I haven’t watched Bones. I’m sure it will soon become another t.v. fixation. Like I don’t already have enough.

    I’m reading one of Ms. Reich’s books right now! “Spider Bones.”

    I love her writing style. No loopy excessive descriptions. Short and to the point.

    Me likey.

  9. I like Kathy Reich’s books a lot, but don’t go into them expecting them to be like the TV show. As a fan of the books, I was disappointed in the show.

    • I’m glad they’re not like the show. I’m only into the second season of the show and it’s losing a little of its luster so I’m all right with it not being like the show.

  10. My wife got me into Bones shortly before we got married almost 3 years ago. We’re regular watchers of the show and try not to miss an episode. I’ve always wanted to read Kathy Reichs’ first book in the series, and I know you’ll let us all know how it is. 🙂

    Regarding your question about number of books… I try not to outdo myself every year, if I do, that’s one thing, but I’m not consciously trying to read more than I did in the previous year. Now that I think about it, I know I won’t be reading as many books as last year given what I’m reading.

    There is definitely something to be said for quality over quantity though. My sister devours books, I think in the first two months and a week of the year, she’s already read more than I have in the last two years! She puts me to shame every year! 😀

    • Yeah, but your quality is way, way up…through the roof even compared to the detritus most of us are reading.

      I will let how you know how it is…even if it’s not a full-fledged review.