Gallery

The spirit of Unfinished Rambler will carry on (or more blogger navel-gazing)

Today’s post over at Tribal Blogs about “Has Your Blog Met Your Expectations?” got me thinking or maybe I should say is helping me refocus my thinking on what it is this blog is about.

On the about page for this blog, I start with the quote from where the name of the blog originated:

“We live in an open universe,” said William James, “in which uncertainty, choice, hypothesis, novelties and possibilities are natural.”

But if the universe is unfinished, so are we. Each one of us is, in fact, an open universe. Each one of us is a microcosm of uncertainty, choice, hypothesis, novelties and possibilities. Each one of us is an unfinished person in this unfinished universe. And each one of us feels an infinite and mysterious obligation to complete ourselves and somehow contribute to the completion of the universe. [emphasis mine]

George Sheehan in This Running Life

It’s natural that I highlighted the part of the quote that is the name of this blog. However, in doing so, I neglected to focus on what comes before that ( “a microcosm of uncertainty, choice, hypothesis, novelties and possibilities”) and also what comes after that (“each one of us feels a mysterious obligation to complete ourselves and somehow contribute to the completion of the universe”). It’s not just that I think I’m an unfinished person in this unfinished universe, but that as someone who has those doubts, hopes and aspirations, I am working toward becoming a complete person and trying to contribute toward you becoming a complete person as well.

That’s why in the next paragraph I say, “The primary purpose of this blog is to serve as a portal into one unfinished person’s life, especially through three elements of not only who he is, but who we all are.”

Those three elements are body, mind and soul, which at one time or another I had a blog on each element: just a (running) fool, just a (reading) fool, and Journeying with the Saints. Those three blogs are gone now, but continue in theme through posts labeled “Body,” “Mind,” and “Soul.”

For the time being, I have three themed days that focus on each as well: Motivation Monday, Midweek Review and Flashback Friday.

The secondary purpose of this blog has been a place for my alter ego, Unfinished Rambler, who once had his own blog (which also has now been deleted) to ramble. The theory has been that he pretty much would ramble any day, but especially on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturdays, or the days that Unfinished Person didn’t post.

Posts labeled “Unfinished Rambler.

I say “has been” because I’m not sure if I want to continue Unfinished Rambler. Yes, I do want to continue the rambling posts, because as humans, we are not just body, mind and soul. We are more than that, or to word it another way, we have something that is outside those rigid constructs, that cannot be categorized as quickly. However, it still is a part of who we are, and who I am, and cannot be ignored.

In other words, I am merging Unfinished Rambler into Unfinished Person as of today, because I as an unfinished person have both my serious side and my less than serious side, but I still am one person, one unfinished person. I still will keep the category “Unfinished Rambler” there for past posts, but as of today, Unfinished Rambler will die — at least in theory. His spirit still will inhabit this blog and this unfinished person in this unfinished universe — just as that rambling spirit inhabits all of you who consider yourselves unfinished.

14 responses to “The spirit of Unfinished Rambler will carry on (or more blogger navel-gazing)

  1. I’m very confused. It’s not your fault, it’s mine.

    I’m glad you’re consolidating, but I think I only ever read this blog. You had three at one time, right? I couldn’t handle three. Or even two. I can barely handle one.

  2. I like Unfinished Person better than the other dude anyway. He was too snarky a lot of the time. When you are just you, you are more fun and even more fascinating!

  3. Hum….I don’t think you’re finished until you die.

    Oops.

    Was that a ramble?

  4. I had no idea what you were rambling about until I read the comments.

    Sigh… I never caught on with this Unfinished Rambler-Person difference. Arrivederci to whoever is going.

  5. “Oh, but don’t worry, I’m not starting another blog called Finished Rambler. That would be a little much, even for me.”

    Okay, that made me laugh out loud. I sorta see you contemplating it and then saying, “Naaaahhhhh….”

  6. So, then, like, Unfinished Rambler IS finished? Sad, my friend. We will miss him.

    • Yep, he is finished, but I will carry on his spirit — and his sense of humor– here.

      Oh, but don’t worry, I’m not starting another blog called Finished Rambler. That would be a little much, even for me.