Gallery

A retrospective on my reading this past week and for February (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Yesterday I finally finished 2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke after losing my copy of it, then having to go to the library and pick up their copy there. Ironically, it was the same edition. I previously mentioned how I wasn’t overwhelmed by the work — at least, not as far as I had read. I’d probably change that assessment, based on the last half of the book. It was pretty overwhelming. I’m not sure if I agree with Clarke’s view of the universe, but it still made a very good read.

In that regard, of not necessarily agreeing with the author’s view of the universe, I think of Isaac Asimov’s Foundation trilogy. I won’t say that I was all too enamored of his humanistic views there either, but I enjoyed the story nonetheless.

On Friday, I finished How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had Coming by Mike Brown, the Caltech professor whose discovery of what he first thought might be another planet sounded the death knell for Pluto. I have my own thoughts on the book, but in this case I defer to Swapna Krisha’s review over on her blog. She pretty much captures what I would have said, especially about how he writes simply for the lay reader. I don’t know if I thought that Pluto had it coming, though. Personally I was fascinated by all the battles that go on behind the scenes in astronomy and was clueless that at one time there were more than the eight planets we know now (oops, spoiler, sorry).

With those two books, I now have finished six books this year, but jumped from two books to four books last month. If I can double the number of books each month this year, by the end of the year, I will have read 4,096 book. I think that’s completely doable, don’t you? 😉 The other two books I read this month were Terra Incognita by Ruth Downie and  Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand. I highly encourage you to pick up a copy of Unbroken as soon as you can, as I have no doubt it will be the best book I’ve read this year.

As for what I’ll be reading today, in keeping with my joining Amy of My Friend Amy for Frederick Buechner Week February 28 through March 4, I’m reading The Eyes of the Heart: A Memoir of the Lost and Found. At 183 pages, I have no doubt I should be able to finish this one today. Although I also originally agreed to review one other book of his and write an essay on his influence in my life, I don’t think I’m going to get to that review of one other book of his, because our library doesn’t have any copies of his books and neither does our local bookstore. However, I will get to the essay, which probably will be more like a blog post than an essay, to be honest. I can’t seem to write lengthy pieces anymore. I think my attention span has been killed by Twitter and Facebook.

So how did your reading go this past month? What was your favorite read of the month? And, of course, what are you reading today or planning to read this week?

10 responses to “A retrospective on my reading this past week and for February (TSS)

  1. Oh, thank you for your kind words about my review! I really enjoyed that book, and I’m so glad I’m not alone.

    • I came across at it at the library (on our list of e-books) and thought it looked good, and it was. As for your review, when I did a Google search on the book, your review was near the top of the list, so I had to see what you said. Mostly, I agreed with you although I don’t think I have quite as good a grasp on the science as you seem to have.

  2. Yes, I’d love to double the number of books I read each month. Why, in two years…well, you do the math.

    I’ve got Pluto on my radar.

  3. I’ve always wanted to read Isaac Asimov, but I haven’t had the opportunity to read him yet. My reading this past month has been going pretty well. Today, in particular, I managed to get 50+ pages of Capital read. I’m looking forward to hopefully getting a few hundred pages of it read in March.

  4. My favorite for February was Plainsong but I didn’t acutally read that many. Sounds like you have been busy though and I enjoy reading your blog.

  5. You’ve had a great reading month! My favorite read for February was The Kitchen House by Kathleen Grissom and I’ve posted my review today. I’d love for you to stop by and check it out. Have a great Sunday!

  6. Reading certainly opens up new doors and windows onto other views of our universe.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and sharing your thoughts.

  7. While I loved Unbroken, and agree that its everything a well written biography should be, made even better by the uniqueness of the subject AND his family’s uncommon recall and preservation of source material, no book I read this month affected me like Dave Eggers’ Zeitoun. Reading what is essentially a case study of the ‘total breakdown of law and order’ in this country (in the aftermath of Katrina) makes you realize how tenuous our liberty actually is. Add to that the idea that someone so kind could be treated so inexcusably poorly AND still be forgiving AND stay in New Orleans? Does your head in. The book also challenges a lot of the assumptions, stereotypes, and fears we accept. Good books come along all the time; books that make you want to be a better person are less common.

  8. Reading this month was pretty slow – it was a funny month. Got a chunk of War and Peace done, read and reviewed another book and got a few more chapters of Snow done but aside from that… Anyway, I TOTALLY think that 4096 books by the end of the year is a realistic goal 😉 It’d be fun to see how close one could get, anyway!

    • I’m guessing I’d be about 4,000 or so short at the end.

      And if you’re reading War and Peace, I think you have more than enough of an excuse for not getting much reading done.