Gallery

Journeying through space this week

The last time I updated you on my reading, I was trying to find 2001: A Space Odyssey, the novelization written by Arthur C. Clarke of the movie written by Clarke and Stanley Kubrick, that I had misplaced either in our car or at the library where I work.  I also was planning on starting The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows and How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming by Mike Brown. Since then, I haven’t found 2001 in either of those places, so tonight I checked out a copy of the book from the library, interestingly (well, at least to me) the same edition as I had.

I didn’t get a chance to start the Shaffer and Barrows book, so for now I’m going to put that on hold and return to it another time. However, I’m about halfway through the book about the death of Pluto, which means I’m now reading two books about the final frontier. I didn’t plan it that way, but it just sort of happened.

It made me think of two questions to ask you all out there: first, has that ever happened to you where things you’re reading collide unexpectedly? I’m not talking about reading for a class or planning on reading books on the same subject. I’m talking about when you suddenly realize that what you’re reading or maybe what you’re watching on TV coincide and you didn’t plan it?

Second, what are your favorite books about space, either fiction or nonfiction? Immediately, what came to mind was The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov. On the nonfiction front, I think of A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking.  I also remember reading several collections of short stories by Asimov as a teenager. Besides Asimov and Hawking, I think of Orson Scott Card, especially Ender’s Game. I’m sure if I sat and thought about it a little more, I could come up with a list of 20 or so, but I really want to get back to reading the Clarke and Brown books tonight. I’ll leave you to making your own lists here in the comments.

8 responses to “Journeying through space this week

  1. Stranger, I Will Fear No Evil, and Time Enough for Love were three of my favorites. Fear was almost disturbing but I won’t say why.

  2. I’m hit with synchronicity so often that sometimes I wonder if I’m not making it up. I mean, every day, pretty much.

    As for my favorite space books, I’d probably have to pick Card’s entire Ender series. I was totally wrapped up in them. He’s an amazing writer, I think. Anything by Heinlein is great, too.

    • Synchronicity: Why couldn’t I think of that word? That, of course, is the exact right word that I needed.

      With Heinlein, where do you recommend starting? A Stranger in A Strange Land? Or is there a book I should read before that?

  3. I really liked Hyperion by Simmons and of course Dune, though not the sequels–they seemed to lose focus (too much spice perhaps). I remember reading 2001 and the one after–I believe it was 2015. They didn’t stick with me like I thought they would. Dune did and to some extent–Hyperion though the sequels were tougher sledding–made it through the first sequel but not the second. Longer ago I liked short stories Philip Dick and Sturgeon come to mind.

  4. Regarding your first question, that happened when I started reading Harry Potter back in 2007. My wife, whom I was dating at the time, wanted to see The Order of the Phoenix. At the time, I hadn’t seen nor read any of the Harry Potter books. Of course, with my unofficial policy of reading books before the movies, I picked them up at Amazon, read each book, then watched the movie. I got through all five of them before the Order of the Phoenix movie came out in theaters.

    Favorite books about space, now there’s a difficult one… I’m partial to 2001, I think it’s good, but you can’t beat the mix of space and humor with Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy. Such a fantastic book that I highly recommend!

    • Harry Potter: sadly, I’ve only read one. It’s true. I’m hoping to get to the rest before the last movie.

      Smack! That’s the sound of me hitting myself in the forehead. Of course, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. That is one of my favorites too. Absolutely should be on any science fiction list.