52 Pickup

1952 Ford F-1 Pickup
Photo courtesy of SoCalFan on Flickr

On this, the 52nd day of 2011, I drop back and punt for my post a day as part of The Daily Post challenge for this year that I have undertaken.

I am supposed to do a Motivation Monday post today, but with 10 inches of snow dropping in my proverbial lap last night, I’m feeling proverbially chilled to the idea.

I scoured Google News earlier this afternoon for inspiration, but felt vastly uninspired by the headlines there. I can’t find the punchlines for any jokes about the uprisings happening everywhere on the planet right now. In fact, I’m hard pressed to find the jokes, let alone the punchlines to them.Β  I’m glad I’m not a writer for The Daily Show or The Colbert Report, who has to find something comical in all this, because “all this” is pretty damned pathetic…

…like playing a game of 52 pickup.

52-card Pickup
Photo courtesy of MikeP on Flickr

6 responses to “52 Pickup

  1. Good post. Has it snowed there recently?

  2. Will your snow ever end?! Here we sigh with sadness each time the news people whisper, Maybe it will snow, as each time we are disappointed. Just a few flakes?

  3. I don’t know why, but I’ve always had an affinity for older vehicles (pre 70’s) even though I am a ‘girl’. That truck is sweet!

    Mondays do not motivate me whatsoever. In fact I sat on my ass most of the day. Well, that’s not entirely true: I had to clean up puppy poops. Keeping on track with your “Motivation Monday” and the “Daily Post” series, I would have thought you might have gone out and, at least, scooped 52 shovels of snow.
    πŸ˜‰

    • That 52 shovels of snow comment wouldn’t hurt so much if it weren’t coming from someone who lives in the Bahamas. Thanks a hell of a lot, lady. πŸ˜‰

      Actually, last night we did get 10 inches of snow, but luckily, we have a neighbor with a snowblower, so didn’t have much shoveling down, a little cleaning off of the car for the wife before she went to work this afternoon, but not bad.

    • Boy, am I out of it…I think I just mentioned the 10 inches of snow again in the comments after I mentioned it in the post.

      By the way, in case anyone missed it the first three times (now), we had 10 inches of snow last night. πŸ˜‰