Gallery

Going to Guernsey and killing Pluto this Sunday (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Today I wanted to finish 2001: A Space Odyssey, the novelization of the movie that was written by Arthur C. Clarke. However, I left the book either at the library or in our car last night, which my wife had today while she was at work. So far, I’m about halfway through the book, which is only a couple of hundred pages and it’s pretty good, although not great. I’m not sure if I’ll continue to read the rest of the series, which my brother-in-law gave me with a pile of other books I have yet to read.

If it is in the car, I’ll look to finish it tonight or tomorrow and then plan on starting two other e-books I borrowed from the library: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows and How I Killed Pluto and Why It Had It Coming by Mike Brown. I’m reading the first one for a book club that meets Tuesday night at From My Shelf Books. As for the second one, I found it while browsing e-books that our library had available for download and since I want to read more nonfiction books this year than I did last year (or the last few years for that matter), I thought this would be another good one.

I say “another good one,” because I finished Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand last week, which probably will be the best book I will read this year. I will do a review of it, although I think I might save it for my Midweek Review post on Wednesday. It’s too good to just dash off a review only to say I finished a review.

What is on your reading radar for tomorrow or for today, if you’re reading this post on Sunday where you are?

11 responses to “Going to Guernsey and killing Pluto this Sunday (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Journeying through space this week | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I had not heard of the Death of Pluto book. I love nonfiction and it makes me happy to discover a new title. Thank you for sharing this one.

  3. I loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society. I saw a NOVA or Nature a few months back about the death of Pluto. It was quite cute and interesting how attached folks felt to a planet (or not a planet)!

  4. I loved the Guernsey book too, but I listened to it on audio. A recent nonfiction I listened to was Atlantic, which I found really interesting.

  5. I’m sorry to hear that you’re not enjoy 2001 so much. It’s definitely short, but so much is packed into it! As you know, I’m still reading Karl Marx’s Capital, which I’ve been pretty lazy about reading this week. I’m hoping to get a jump start on it again today, but, the Caps game comes on in an hour and a half… 🙂 Enjoy the Daytona 500!

    • Capital and the Capitals…Hmmm, there’s something there, but I’m not sure what. 🙂

      2001 is still good, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t know if I feel it’s great, at this point. My thoughts might change on the subject. I’ll let you know when I find the book to finish it.

  6. I’ve been reading a lot of nonfiction books lately, too. Some of them were on my old TBR stacks, which I’m working my way through…and others just caught my eye.

    I get on kicks like that.

    Loved the Guernsey book…can never say the whole name. It’s like a tongue-twister…LOL

    Enjoy your reading.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON

  7. I’ve been a nonfiction streak lately. This weekend I need to finish Dani Shapiro’s memoir Devotion for a blog tour on Thursday, and then I actually don’t have any reading commitments for a few weeks, so I’m not sure what I’m reading next, except that it’ll probably be fiction.

    I hate when I leave the book I’m in the middle of somewhere else – I feel at loose ends until I get it back again!