Gallery

Patron of the Week: Mrs. My-Children-Are-Little-Monsters-And-I-Know-It

This week’s Patron of the Week comes from the Land of Bratty Children. Please give a warm welcome to Mrs. My-Children-Are-Little-Monsters-And-I-Know-It.

Yes, admittedly we have a lot of these but since I don’t work during the day Wednesdays when our library has Story Hour, I don’t always encounter these mothers and children. I work mostly nights, specifically Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday nights, and every Tuesday night, the other librarian assistant and I encounter this one particular mother and two children, who she freely admits are “monsters.”

“Oh, no, it’s okay. They are monsters.”

That’s what she told me one of the first times when I rolled my eyes after having to “deal” with them, which by “deal” I mean I probably had to say “Shhhh” several times to them.

The mother, I’m guessing, is in her early 30s. The children are a boy, about six, and a girl, about two.

Matchbox cars @ garage sale

Image by daniel spils via Flickr

Last week the boy left a box of Matchbox cars in the back children’s play area, and other children scattered them throughout the area after he left. Our director wasn’t exactly pleased and we had to let the mother know tonight that it would be best if the boy didn’t bring back the cars in the future.

After I checked out her and her children’s books tonight, I gave her back the box. As I handed the box of toy cars to her, she asked the boy:

“What do you say?”

“Thank you.”

“No, what do you say?”

He gave her a blank look.

She prompted him:

“I apologize for bringing in the cars and causing a disturbance in the library.”

He evidently didn’t hear her correctly because all he said was:

“Poop.”

“What do you say?”

“Poopy pants.”

We both just rolled our eyes. After all, what else could we do? He is just a little monster and doesn’t know any better.

Sad but true.

6 responses to “Patron of the Week: Mrs. My-Children-Are-Little-Monsters-And-I-Know-It

  1. You’re never too young to be cranky Linda. I had cranky down to an art by the time I was a junior in high school.

  2. You are too young to be so cranky.

  3. How nice to be able to just make a statement like that (“they are just monsters”) and then abdicate all responsibility! Argh.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Patron of the Week: Mrs. My-Children-Are-Little-Monsters-And-I-Know-It | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe) -- Topsy.com

  5. Ugh.

    Where’s Super Nanny when you need her?