Gallery

This Week’s Self-Created Drama: The Cold

British Museum drama masks

Image by TheatricAL 03 via FlickrI know. I know.

I know. I know.

Last week I wrote about having no more drama.

However, if you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you should know by now that I thrive on drama, so I give you…

This Week’s Self-Created Drama: The Cold

It all began this past Saturday when I awoke with the chills and my teeth chattering like a typewriter.

It continued yesterday with my figuratively giving up the ghost for the day and into a Bones, Season 1, marathon since my wife, who doesn’t like the show or its protagonist played by Emily Deschanel, was at work…

Actress Emily Deschanel at 23rd Genesis Awards...

Image via Wikipedia

…even though my wife this morning via Facebook denied her dislike for Ms. Deschanel:

“Oh, c’mon. I never said I didn’t LIKE her. I could watch her angular face and listen to her declamatory monotone for hours. The show bores me.  It’s like an IKEA catalog with a bunch of forensic scientists in it talking and opening and closing doors.”

If it’s like any catalog, I’d say it’s more like a catalog from the Corning Museum of Glass. In fact, most of the forensic scientist shows (all the CSIs, NCIS and other acronymal shows) seem to be all about the glass. As for her angular face, I wish I had those angles and such strong cheekbone structure.

Also in the offices on Bones, there aren’t a lot of doors to open and close; from what I remember, the main lab is open although it does have some kind of forcefield you have to have a card to be able to walk through.

All this to say I would reword your last sentence, Wifey, to read thusly:

“It’s like a Corning Museum of Glass catalog with a group of forensic scientists in it talking and not opening and closing doors because there are no doors to open and close.”

However, there will be a cup of chicken soup later for which I won’t need a spoon. I’ll just drink it straight from the cup, and I’ll stir it with a fork. So there, Little Ms. Farts-Higher-Than-Your-Ass.

Oh, yeah, Happy Valentine’s Day to you too!

10 responses to “This Week’s Self-Created Drama: The Cold

  1. Hope you feel better. Chicken soup always cures what ails you. I’m also an envious wench but not a fan of Bones. I preferred CourtTV before it turned into testosterone TruTV. Back then, I could watch the channel all day. Love true crime stories.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Oooh, Court TV. I loved Forensic Files, one of my favorites, plus I loved the narrator’s voice. I’m also a huge fan of Cops.

  2. Ickypoo. I’m sorry you are ill.

    Miss Emily is indeed angular and makes most of us fellow wenches envious. As for the show, I’m with your wife. Zzzzzzz.

    Enjoy your foul…er..fowl soup.

    🙂

  3. Ack and ick. Sorry you are sick. I don’t watch Bones. But I do think the wench is very pretty. I just prefer Law & Order or Criminal Mind eppies. I am crotchety when it comes to my shows. Get better before the zombies come to get you. You NEVER know, eh?

    • unfinishedrambler

      L & O is a good one, if you’re going to be into crime show.

      Who’s to say the zombies haven’t already gotten to me. YOU never know, eh? 😉

  4. Some days you just make me laugh (and so does your wife). Hope the chicken soup helps and you’re feeling better.

  5. You can count me in as a “Bones” fan, even if her character is a bit “odd” from time to time.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I really haven’t watched the show that much…I’m only in on the first few episodes, but it’s a good diversion. I seem to like it better than NCIS, which I guess might not be saying much.

      Oh, don’t get my wife started on NCIS. 😉