Gallery

Quotable: Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Today I’m joining Bookish Ruth for a feature she calls Quotable (click on the button at right for more information or to join Ruth and me).  Each Friday she shares a short passage that caught her attention during that week’s reading or an old favorite. I know I’m a day behind, but I thought I’d share anyway from the book I’ve been reading today:

One morning, they woke to a strange stillness. The rise and fall of the raft had ceased, and it sat virtually motionless. There was no wind. The ocean stretched out in all directions in glossy smoothness, regarding the sky and reflecting its image in crystalline perfection. Like the ancient mariner, Louie and Phil had found the doldrums, the eerie pause of wind and water that lingers around the equator. They were, as Coleridge wrote, “as idle as a painted ship upon a painted ocean.”

It was an experience of transcendence. Phil watched the sky, whispering that it looked like a pearl. The water looked so solid that it seemed they could walk across it. When a fish broke the surface far away, the sound carried to the men with absolute clarity. They watched as pristine ringlets of water circled outward around the place where the fish had passed, then faded to stillness.

For a while, they spoke, sharing their wonder. Then they fell into reverent silence. Their suffering was suspended. They weren’t hungry or thirsty. They were unaware of the approach of death.

— from Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

Do you have any passages from what you’re reading this week that are quotable? Feel free to share them here or with your own blog post and add your post to mine and Ruth’s on her page.

9 responses to “Quotable: Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand

  1. Pingback: Going to Guernsey and killing Pluto this Sunday (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Thanks so much for joining me this week! I love the passage you chose. The description is so vivid that I felt like I was there. Looks like I’m going to need to pick up Unbroken at some point (after I make progress on the TBR pile!).

  3. Pingback: A short list of books with heart for this Valentine’s Day (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  4. I love this story; hope you love the book as well.

  5. Strange, I just reading Moby Dick. The opening paragraph is perhaps the second best opening paragraph of any book I’ve read (behind Anna Karinena), and it’s also about the sea.

    • It wasn’t an easy book, or a quick read by any stretch of the imagination, but I loved Moby Dick. It was one of my favorites and had a lot of quotable parts in it…although most of the quotes would take up a couple of blog posts, as I remember.

  6. Thanks for this, Bryan! Hope you enjoy the book even 1/2 as much as I did …