Gallery

Of Harvard, Rome, Omori, Naoetsu, Honolulu and half a billion miles away from Earth

Earlier this week I finished The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich and last week I finished Terra Incognita, the second in a mystery series about a doctor in ancient Roman times, by Ruth Downie. Of the two, Terra Incognita was the better and I’d recommend buying a copy of it and the others in the series. After having a group of DNFs, it was nice to get to a book finally that more than held my interest.

The Social Network

Image via Wikipedia

The other is worth getting out of the library, because it is a quick read and if only to compare and contrast to the movie The Social Network, which was based on the book. Mezrich included a few interesting details that Aaron Sorkin chose not to use and that shed a little more light on not only Mark Zuckerberg, the main protagonist/antagonist (depending on how you view him), but also Eduardo Saverin. What were they? Well, I’m not going to tell you. You’ll have to read the book for yourself.

2001: A Space Odyssey (novel)

Image via Wikipedia

Today I’m going to be starting two books: Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, which I have on e-book and is on loan from the library, and Charlie Chan Carries On, the fifth in the Charlie Chan series, by Earl Derr Biggers. Later in the week, in keeping with my goal of reading one book a week from my TBR shelf, I’ll be reading 2001: A Space Oddysey by Arthur C. Clarke, the first in the Space Odyssey series. My brother-in-law Warren gave me all four in the series that also include 2010: Odyssey Two, 2061: Odyssey Three and 3001: The Final Odyssey. Whether or not I’ll read the other three, of course, will depend on whether I like the first one, so I’m making no promises.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close - Image Co...

Image via Wikipedia

On the radar: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows for the book club on Feb. 22 at From My Shelf BooksThe Eyes of the Heart: A Memoir of the Lost and Found by Frederick Buechner and one other book, still to be determined, by him for  Frederick Buechner Week February 28 through March 4; Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer for the library book club on March 8 even though I will be unable to attend because I will be covering a school board meeting for the newspaper I work for. However, just flipping through the book, I have to admit I was intrigued, to say the least, and so thought I’d “give it a go.”

So what books are you reading this week? What’s on your radar for the next few weeks or months in terms of reading?


5 responses to “Of Harvard, Rome, Omori, Naoetsu, Honolulu and half a billion miles away from Earth

  1. Hubby and I watched The Social Network on Friday night and we both really enjoyed the movie. The only word I can come up with is “astounding.” I find it SO astounding that all of this happened within the past decade, that FACEBOOK has made this kid a billionaire, all the controversy, his personality (though how much of that was hollywoodized?), etc. Astounding. Until our twittersation the other day I didn’t realize that Accidental Billionaires was the basis for the movie nor that Ben Mezrich (who wrote the book that 21 was based on) wrote it.

    Yes, read EL&IC. I wish everyone would read it, if only to read it and form an opinion. Plus I’m really curious what you’d think.

  2. I’m definitely going to need to take a look at The Accidental Billionaires. I have this unwritten policy of reading the book before I see the movie, although, sometimes it doesn’t quite work out that way! 🙂

    As you know, I’m currently reading Karl Marx’s Capital, which is proving to be an intellectually stimulating read so far. Coming up next for me are the next two volumes of Capital; however, I’m seriously considering breaking them up with other reading to keep my mind fresh, we’ll see. After that, I do have The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, and a book I’m truly looking forward to Atlas Shrugged.

    2001, as I mentioned on Twitter is phenomenal. I also read 2010 which was pretty good as well, but I haven’t read 2067 or 3001, although, I’ve given it some thought. Since it’s been so long since I’ve read 2001 and 2010, I’d need to read those again to refresh my memory.

  3. Now I did see the movie “The Social Network” and found it oddly fascinating. I still don’t really understand FB, but that somebody saw it for what it could be was interesting. That said, all the people seemed like jerks to me. Zuckerman was not a sympathetic character all, the “twins” were disgusting, the only one I kind of liked was Edwardo.

    I’m having trouble reading. I have about 4 books going, and I can’t get through any of them. I usually read a book a week at the minimum. Weird.

    • Eduardo was the main source for the book, so naturally he comes off looking a little bit (okay, a lot) better than everyone else. That said, he still doesn’t come off like as much of a saint in the book as he does in the movie.