Gallery

An open letter to Mark Zuckerberg

How to fold a paper fortune teller 12 steps, s...

Image via Wikipedia

Dear Mark:

I can’t decide if I love you or hate you…

…no matter how many times I use my paper fortune teller or cootie catcher, pictured at right. I keep coming up with different answers to the question: Do I love Mark?

Yes, I do.

No, I don’t.

Yes, I do, like Madonna loves crack.

No, I don’t, like Brad doesn’t really love Angelina.

Okay, yes, I do because I’m a wanker too.

It just keeps going round and round, in an endless “loves you loves you not” cycle.

I love you because you give us the power to defriend on your app.

I hate you because I don’t think your app really knows me yet.

I love you because your advertisers want me. They really want ME body, mind and soul.

I hate you because sometimes my avatars and corks don’t work on games I’m playing on your app.

I love you because you are mostly good to animals (unlike how you were depicted in that apocryphal movie) in that you haven’t clubbed any baby seals and you have helped me with my charley horse (in a roundabout kind of way).

I say, mostly good, because of your treatment of dolphins, which I already have documented in a previous post.

Sincerely yours,

I’m writing this post today for a few reasons: one, I’m reading The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich, which was the basis for the “apocryphal” movie, and this will count for my Midweek Review post this week; two, because yesterday’s Tribal Blogs blog challenge was to write an open letter to a celebrity and three, because today’s Tribal Blogs blog challenge is to write a post using at least five internal links. I thought this would be a good way to combine all three into one post.

11 responses to “An open letter to Mark Zuckerberg

  1. Pingback: Reading The Accidental Billionaires and getting ready to get in bed with a bookseller (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. What I don’t get is that I get these e-mails from FaceBook people saying that they like my photo. I don’t do FaceBook – I haven’t signed up, even visit the site, so I shouldn’t even rate a mere blip on its cybernetic radar. Yeah, I know it’s all spam, but I thought the ‘Mighty Mr. Z’ was to supress all of that crap.

    Um, I’m almost afraid to ask what a ‘cork’ is.

    (Fun post, by the way!)

  3. Wow, you amaze me with your ability to multi-task. However I think you’re spending too much time on Facebook. It may be time for an intervention.

  4. I also have a love-hate relationship with Mark Zuckerberg. All the Facebook responses I get clutter my already glutted in box. I joined too many groups that really don’t interest me that were recommended by friends. With friends like these . . .

    • unfinishedrambler

      There’s a way you can change the settings for all that junk…as for groups, I’m in one group and that’s it. Just get out of the other groups if you’re not interested in them. That’s my two cents anyhow.

      Actually I need to change my settings too for what is sending me e-mails. I get too much “junk” too.

    • unfinishedrambler

      There’s a way you can change the settings for all that junk…as for groups, I’m in one group and that’s it. Just get out of the other groups if you’re not interested in them. That’s my two cents anyhow.

      Actually I need to change my settings too for what is sending me e-mails. I get too much “junk” too.

  5. Really looking forward to your review of Accidental Billionaire! I’m not sure i I love him or hate him either. Love the ability to connect and share easily but not so happy about the constant problems with privacy and trying to defend my profile and personal info being sold for profit…. Back and forth we go!

    • unfinishedrambler

      I’ve been really bad on reviews, but if I do review, you’ll be the second one to know…after myself, of course. 🙂 I’ll let you know, though, via Twitter what I thought.

      Back and forth we go, indeed. For now, I’m just being pretty passive about it and going with the flow, especially as I’m building a city on CityVille.

      By the way, if you receive this response, I can’t comment on your blog because I don’t have Blogger. Is there any way you could open up your commenting to others without Blogger? Just a thought you might want to consider.

  6. You’ll have to let me know how The Accidental Billionaires is. I might have to add it to my list to read. I also sometimes think I have a love/hate relationship with facebook too.

  7. I wonder what ever happened to the dude that invented Friendster. Remember that old chestnut? No one’s ever gonna make a movie about what a jerk he is, I bet.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Friendster? Hmmm. Is that like MySpace? Can’t believe that is still around either.

      Have heard of Catster, though. I think my wife has our cat on it. 🙂