Gallery

Knee deep in the hoopla of reading challenges

Ruh roh, Raggy. It’s happened again.

“Just when I thought I was out…they pull me back in.”

I made a vow to myself that I only would be in two challenges this year, but now suddenly I find myself in THREE!

Two years ago, I joined the ongoing Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, which is to read all of Christie’s novels — but in no set time. To date, I’ve read 29 of her 80 novels. Over the last couple of months, I’ve taken a hiatus from reading anything by her, but I plan to return to her works here next month.

Last year, I joined The Baker Street Challenge, which was to read Sherlock Holmes books, whether the original Sir Arthur Conan Doyle books or pastiches based off those books. I already had an interest in reading more Sherlock Holmes stories so I immediately joined, then it seemed to fade away as its founder, Bookish Ruth, underwent some health problems. Now Ruth and the challenge are back and I’m joining the latest incarnation of the challenge. Ruth has set up different commitment levels, but I haven’t yet decided the number of books I’ll read for this challenge. I only know that I have the entire Vol. 2 of The Complete Sherlock Holmes both sitting on my shelf and in my Nook, so I’m ready to go.

And this year I’ve joined the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge, which is to read some of the works of the great Japanese writer. Already, I’ve read Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World and I plan on rereading A Wild Sheep Chase, which made me immediately fall in love with Murakami’s work, and reading its sequel, Dance, Dance, Dance as well as at least one or two others to be decided.

In other bookish news, I’m joining My Friend Amy for Frederick Buechner Week February 28 through March 4, where she, I and other bloggers will be reading and discussing his The Eyes of the Heart: A Memoir of the Lost and Found. I also have agreed to review one other book of his and write an essay on his influence in my life.

I will have more bookish news for February, but for now, I’ll just make you wait in suspense for what it might be, as I don’t want to tip my hand too early.

What I’m reading now: Terra Incognita, or as it’s known in Great Britain, Ruso and the Demented Doctor, by Ruth Downie, the second in her series about a Roman doctor in ancient Britain.

What are you reading this week and are you involved in any reading challenges, or is it, like it is for me, sometimes a challenge to read books at all, with all the various competing mediums, TV, the Internet, Facebook, Twitter, blogs, not to mention…er…real life?

8 responses to “Knee deep in the hoopla of reading challenges

  1. I’m involved in a ton of reading challenges. This year I decided to participate at the lowest level of each one. So far it’s working since I’ve finished a few of them just by reading one book. It’s definitely a challenge to read a book when I’m constantly on FB or twitter.

  2. Pingback: Wrapping up January in reading and looking ahead to playing it by ear in February (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. So glad I checked out your blog. I’d never heard of reading challenges, but I think I’m going to put one of those on my next 101 Things list… Thanks for the heads-up!

  4. Pingback: You might be a book geek if… | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  5. I’m not participating in any official reading challenges this year. However, I’m doing my own sort of reading challenge. It’s a “Marx” reading challenge. I’m going to complete four books written by Karl Marx this year.

    I’ve already completed one, Grundrisse. I have the three volumes of Das Kapital sitting on my bookcase that I’m going to start tackling soon.

    I just finished President Obama’s Dreams From My Father, and I’m getting ready to read his book The Audacity of Hope.

  6. What a great idea, to see oneself as an unfinished person… hope you enjoy Terra Incognita, and all the other reading challenges.
    Best wishes,
    Ruth

    • I am enjoying it so far. I liked the first one and can’t say anything bad — so far 😉 about this one.

      In the interest of being honest, here is a link to my review of the first of the series: http://unfinishedperson.com/2009/06/26/medicus-by-ruth-downie/ and when I am done with this one, I will write a short review of it as well. Of course, now I’ll feel the pressure to do so. I will try to be as honest as I was in the first review…unless you tell me (or pay me 😉 otherwise.

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Knee deep in the hoopla of reading challenges | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe) -- Topsy.com