Gallery

Yes, gone, daddy, gone, the blog is gone

As mentioned yesterday, I’ve joined Natasha Maw at Maw Books Blog for the 4th Edition of Bloggiesta, a blogging marathon to “cross those nagging items off of your to-do list and improve your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing.” Click on the badge for more about the marathon, which started yesterday morning at 8 a.m. and lasts until 8 p.m. Sunday.

Instead of having half a dozen items on my list, I had two things I wanted to get accomplished yesterday, today and soon to be tomorrow:

  1. Deleting my former blog, Just A (Reading) Fool, and making sure that backlinks  went to this blog too and not back to a blog which is no longer in existence.
  2. Cleaning up my categories.

As of 11 p.m. tonight here on the East Coast of the U.S., the blog, known as Just A (Reading) Fool, is no more. However, the posts that were there still live on here for all of you to continue to read. I can’t promise all the graphics for memes in which I participated are there or even some photos, but I can tell you the posts, the links and backlinks are there and hopefully will take you to the right place, all within this blog space.

I started at about 10 a.m. this morning on what was nearly 300 posts (I had begun the project previously), going through each one by one until all links and backlinks (pingbacks) were corrected. I have to say it was pretty easy with WordPress.com with the platform providing a way to edit your pingbacks right on the comments.

I still have some duplicate posts, because I occasionally did cross-post there and here and I didn’t want to lose comments from either place. With WordPress.com, there is no easy way to consolidate comments that I can figure. Maybe manually, some day when I’m really bored (yeah, right), I can go in and move the comments to one post, but for now they are where they are. At least, everything is here.

Now someday I only have four other blogs with which I need to do the same thing — yes, rolling eyes.

If you are participating in Bloggiesta, what were your plans for this weekend? What did you get accomplished today? If you aren’t participating, what ways can you improve your blog? Join us if you like and work on at least one of them over this weekend.

7 responses to “Yes, gone, daddy, gone, the blog is gone

  1. A-ha…someone else who had more than one blog! I realize that I’m “crazier” than most, with my fourteen blogs, but at one point I had twenty.

    I have “merged” a few, but didn’t bring all the posts over…too much work!

    It is a grand ambition, though…and I applaud you!

    BTW, there’s a page on each of my WP blogs that link to the others….FYI

  2. That sounds a lot like work to me. Yikes! I guess that’s why I’ve pretty much stuck to one blog. About three years ago, I moved from Blogger to a self-hosted WordPress blog and ported over my posts. It was six months before I realized there were broken links and missing graphics.

  3. This is like cleaning out your closet and sending that stuff to Goodwill or the dumpster. It’s a hassle until you get around to it, but once you’re finished it’s such a huge relief.

    Congrats on getting around to your spring (winter?) cleaning.

  4. Yep, we’ll both still be here. Hopefully, the Rambler soon can find his funny, because I’m sort of getting sick of holding up this blog on my own. That bastard. 😉

  5. Well, I was scared when I read the title of your post. But I was relieved to find you will still be here. Great!!!

  6. I was planning to use Bloggiesta mostly for catching up on reviews, but I’ve learned that taking a year off from blogging leaves, well, about a year’s worth of blog maintenance undone. Slogging through my tags right now, then it’s on to refining my review policy.

    • Glad to see you’re back, Ruth. I’ll be joining you in the Baker Street Challenge again. I didn’t realize you were back…sorry if I took you out of my reader. I do know that you were undergoing health problems (to say the least), but I wasn’t sure if you were returning to blogging. That said, glad to see you back and especially the Baker Street Challenge. I have you back on my reader and will add you to my blogroll in the near future (which is used directly from my reader anyway).