Gallery

Bloggiesta Ole! Hey ho let’s go!

I’m joining Natasha Maw at Maw Books Blog for the 4th Edition of Bloggiesta, a blogging marathon to “cross those nagging items off of your to-do list and improve your blog while in the good company of other awesome bloggers doing the same thing.” Click on the badge for more about the marathon, which started this morning at 8 a.m. and lasts until 8 p.m. Sunday.

Instead of having half a dozen items on my list, I have two things I want to get accomplished today, tomorrow and Sunday:

  1. Delete my former blog, Just A (Reading) Fool. I’ve already moved the posts here. Now it’s just a matter of making sure backlinks go to this blog too and not back to a blog, which after this weekend will no longer be in existence. I already have started this project previously, but I think I have at least 100, if not 200, posts still to go through.
  2. Clean up my categories. At 40-plus categories, I have waaaay too many. My goal is to cut it to 20, with the main categories being “Body,” “Mind” and “Soul,” in keeping with the theme of this blog. Other than that, anything is up for change.

As the Book Borrowing Factory, where I work, is opening two hours late today because of snow, I’m going to try to get a jumpstart on the first project this morning, at least for an hour — and then restart after I get home later this afternoon.

If you are participating in Bloggiesta, what are your plans for this weekend? If you aren’t, what ways can you improve your blog? Join us if you like and work on at least one of them over this weekend.


10 responses to “Bloggiesta Ole! Hey ho let’s go!

  1. Good luck with your tasks! I love the name of your blog.

  2. I deleted a bunch of Blogger sites awhile back, as my number (of blogs) was out of control. I have most of my blogs on Word Press now; however, I only copied and pasted a few posts over to the new sites.

    I had to fix the links issue, though, which took a lot of time! Good luck!

  3. You have a ton of posts to go through. I hope you get everything done.

  4. I always cut my categories down, then add more when I need them, then cut them, add more, it’s a never end cycling. I suppose that the issue with a blog that can cover anything is that the chances are, what you write will fall outside of your current category selection. What do you do? Add another or just shoe horn the post into a category that best fits?

    • I do shoe horn posts if I have to do so, but I try not to do that. And yes, it’s always revision, revision, revision. Just when I think I have it figured out, I…explode. 😉

  5. I love that you are keeping your to-do list reasonable! Good luck!

  6. I am hoping to catch up on reviews this weekend. I may also clean up my blog labels a bit. Good Luck!

  7. Thats a great idea to cut categories! I have many I used (or thoguth I would use) when I first started blogging… I really need to clean that up as I use probably a handful of them 🙂

    Have fun and good luck!