Gallery

Not finding the humor today, but maybe tomorrow

Sitting in the waiting room at the doctor’s office is not a place to find humor– at least, not when you’re by yourself. There is no one of whom to make fun unless you have a mirror, and I didn’t this morning.

A typical examination room in a doctor's office.

Image via Wikipedia

The dearth of humor continued after I entered the examination room and was asked to step on the scale, although after I did so, I now did have some of whom I could make fun, i.e. myself.Β  The thing is I didn’t feel like it, and the clock ticking, ticking, ticking into the future only me contemplate my own mortality.

When the doctor arrived, she didn’t inject any humor into the conversation by having me bring up “family history,” in this case, a late grandfather who died of colon cancer. I was there for a physical and to get an order for blood work because I take Prozac. Luckily, she said I didn’t have to have a rectal exam, but because of the family history, she did give me two sticks on which to put my feces, place in two cards and mail for analysis.

Then she left– only to return a moment later because forgot to give me my testicular exam. For some, this might be the time to make jokes, but after contemplating death, I really wasn’t in the mood.

Maybe tomorrow, though, I’ll be able to find some humor as she did double my dose of Prozac, at least for the winter.

Maybe happy days are here again…

I don’t know about you, but that song depresses the hell out of me, especially sung by Barbra and Judy. I don’t know if I’ll ever get happy again.

23 responses to “Not finding the humor today, but maybe tomorrow

  1. Pingback: A look back at January 2011 here on an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: How I’ve been doing thus far on the no’s and yeses | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I actually feel so much better after going in for my annual physical, particularly after getting the lab work back saying everything is okay. I’ve suffered from depression, anxiety, panic attacks and none of it is a laughing matter. I’m glad you’re taking something to help.

  4. Well at least she didn’t try to put your feet up in stirrups!
    Barum bump!
    Still no funny?

    Well I tried.
    And as one of has had her feet in stirrups a bazillion times, I have a hard time finding the funny too. Especially when the doc dons the spelunker hat.

    I feel pretty. I feel pretty. I feel pretty and witty and want the earth to swallow me whoooooole!

    Hey! Howzabout this: (sung to tune of Let The Sunshine In)

    Oh let the Prozac in
    Then your face will grin
    Open up your mouth
    And put the Prozac in!

    I’ll be back.

    I’m sure you’re thrilled. *grin*

  5. Nothing funny about not finding the funny. It’s a tough time of year with lots of time spent inside in layers of clothing, waking up in the dark, coming home from work in the dark and living in the house in the dark ’cause the freaking electric bill is more than my damned mortgage. I don’t get depressed, I get pissed off. I don’t know which is worse.

    The only thing that breaks my mood and my skin is my dog, NutJob. I’d be happy to ship her to you along with some free antibiotics and a tranquilizer gun. Let me know.

    • Thanks for the offer, Deb. We have a cat named Seamus…and he also breaks my skin too, even though he’s declawed — in the front. Now would the tranquilizer gun be for me or your dog? And the antiobiotics? I’m pretty well drugged up as it is with the Prozac and Zyrtec for allergies. But thanks for all of the offers. It means a lot. πŸ™‚

  6. I do so hate those kind of days, doctor’s visits, etc. I do hope you get back to yourself soon. Dealing with depression is hard, I expect, at any time, but winter must be exceptionally hard. Wishing sunny skies and a happy heart for you.

  7. Sending poop through the mail can be humorous, maybe just not for the postal carrier πŸ™‚ I’ve been on anti-depressants for years, they are lifesavers!

    • I don’t know. I’ve heard of leaving flaming poop at neighbor’s in a bag, but I think that’s something different. Isn’t it? πŸ˜‰

      And amen to antidepressants. They definitely have helped me along the way.

  8. I don’t find anything even remotely funny about the exam room, but the waiting room can be a hilarious experience if there are lots of folks in it. I guess you didn’t see anyone funny in there, eh?

    Good luck with the test.

    • Like I said the only one funny there was me and today he wasn’t feeling “the funny.”

      Thanks. I think “taking” the test will be all right. It’s just the results that I hope turn out all right. πŸ˜‰

  9. My coworker just had a sigmoidoscopy this morning. I know it sounds like a joke test, but it’s not and it’s not fun. Oh, and he had to do an enema at home right before the test. He said he feels only slightly violated. It helped that the PA was a hottie, he said.

    Did I have a point? I don’t know. Chin up. At least you’re only dealing with poo on a stick, not having someone go in there and see how it’s doing.

    That help?

  10. Quite a long time ago when I was either in Pittsburgh, Maryland, or Slower Lower Delaware, I read an article about places with the highest incidence of depression and suicides per population – sad to say Tioga County was the highest county in PA … don’t know if it still is, but the gloominess in the weather here sure can sink one into the depths of depression …
    One thing that a very wise Rabbi and psychiatrist told me many, many years ago that has helped me enormously over the years is to keep a Gratitude List and every day find one thing that I’m grateful for to write down, even when I’m in what seems like the depths of depression. It took a LONG TIME for that to work for me, but it does … and as I’ve aged, my list gets longer and longer every day! Just the little things like a roof over my head that doesn’t leak! πŸ™‚
    Don’t know if that will help anyone else but so thankful to the Rabbi who literally saved my life almost 30 years ago!!!
    And Spring is NOT that far away … only 50 days!!! YAY!!!!!!!
    God bless …

    • Wow, that really helps me feel so much better ;).

      Actually the gratitude list does sound like a good way to help me — and others — get out of a funk. Count your blessings.

  11. Ugh. I hate probing, especially when the aliens do it.

    πŸ˜‰

    Ok. Ok. Sending happy thoughts your way.

    I think Pennsylvania stole my sunshine.

  12. Crikey McCrikersons, husband. The sun is coming back out. And life is 100% fatal. No sense in freaking out over one’s particular checkout procedure.
    ….aaand, until you’ve laid on that table, put your feet in the little Inspector-Gadget stirrups that pull out from the end, and found out what that nifty gooseneck lamp over on the side there is for, I don’t wanna hear it.

  13. I won’t say I understand fully, because well I’m not a man but the depression part I do. Every winter was hell for me, the depression would come and the happy me turned into a bitter depressed meanie head.. I refused the drugs they wanted to give me, as a single mother I couldn’t afford to be drugged up..

    My solution; I moved almost 3,000 miles away and started all over. No more snow, no more blizzards and even though I’m still struggling here I can handle it.

    Now, you can’t do what I did but I sincerely hope you find your final solution to help you. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and send some of my spare happiness your way my friend.

    • I’ve been on Prozac for years now, and it does help for the most part, especially with a problem I once had, on dwelling on death (not my own, just in general) and getting panic attacks as a result.

      As for moving to a warmer clime, if we had the money, I’d consider it. Unfortunately, or fortunately, depending on how you look at it, I prefer to look at it the first way, I’ve lived in Pennsylvania all my life.

      Final solution? Ruh roh. That doesn’t sound good. I’ll just hope for a temporary one at this point. πŸ™‚ But thanks for the happy thoughts…always can use more of them, especially this time of year.