Gallery

Announcing yet another new blogroll: Quid pro quo

blogroll

I think since I’ve started this blog, I’ve gone back and forth with how to decide on who’s in and who’s out (you know who you are, you sick twisted freak, and you know damned well why you are out! πŸ˜‰ ) and had at least half a dozen blogrolls. As a result, my blogroll usually is in the hundreds. No more.

This past weekend, I began implementing a new way to keep track of my blogroll, based on what I saw another blogger do. He would start his blogroll fresh at the start of each year and keep a running tab on people who commented on his sidebar. While I’m not going to be that (what I consider) brutal by ranking those of you who comment, I am only going to follow in my Google reader and include on my blogroll those who comment on my blog since the start of the year…and, of course, this does not include spammers.

So far, I have 39 in the reader and on the blogroll. In return, I am going to attempt to follow through on a resolution I made last year to return comment for comment. In other words, if you comment on my blog, I go, visit your blog and comment on your latest post. That way, hopefully we get to know each other a little bit better than we might have known each other before that point…and that point…and that point. It will be an evolving relationship until finally we will achieve the Superman (sorry, getting carried away with philosophy, folks).

Without further ado, here it is, I unroll for you my blogroll.

I think it sounds better in Spanish, don’t you?

34 responses to “Announcing yet another new blogroll: Quid pro quo

  1. Interesting approach. I’ve tried to keep my blogroll fairly short so that the page isn’t miserably long. So I tend to keep about 6 or so blogs listed on my blogroll and trade off a few now and then. I also try to include a couple that are just for fun… like engrish.com, which generally can make me chuckle.

    I also like your comment-for-comment idea.

    Hope you’ll come to visit!

  2. I’m kind of honored to be included! Most days I feel like such a faker–not really a book blogger. At one point I thought I wrote pretty decent reviews but now I think they suck–plus the comments are more fun on the non-bookish stuff. So weird, huh?

    I’m really trying to make an effort of returning comments–probably is I post so much less frequently than other people that I fear they’ll still think I’m shafting them. I also really like when people tweet links (you’re great about this–your links and others). Google Reader is such a pain in the ass that I’m moving more towards email and twitter to get my blog fix. I’m too lazy to make a blog roll.

    Oops–sorry about the ramble. I tend to do that.

    • Well, I’m glad to have “rediscovered” you after so long away — or at least not realizing where you were.

      As for reviews, I don’t write that many and when I do, I keep them pretty short, but then that’s something I aim with all of my blog posts. With so mamny other blog posts out there, I don’t want them to get scared away by a block of text.

      Re: comments. I’m working on comments too and hope that visiting blogs will help too.

      I think you have a reason for posting less frequently so don’t sweat it. Plus when you do post, you put up posts that aren’t drivel — and that make you think (at least they make me think).

      And on rambling, my alter ego is Unfinished Rambler, so I’m used to it :).

  3. How about a special deal for infrequent commenters but on whose blogroll you have always been?
    Pretty self-serving, huh? Well, that’s me all over.

  4. Blogrolls are hard, dude. When I get behind, I just want to quit blogging, because I know I’m going to be hours at catching up. I love all the writers on my list, but it’s often difficult to read that much and still spend time with my boss, my wife, and my kids.

    Your solution’s as good as anybodys.

    • I don’t really spend time with my “bosses” in either of the jobs I work, so I don’t worry about that. The Wife: sure. Kids: don’t have any so don’t have to worry and the cat can curl up on my arm while I’m reading the blogs.

      Blogrolls are a bitch, no two ways about it, but a necessary bitch with which you have to make your peace if you’re a blogger.

  5. I used to be diligent about keeping a blogroll, until I reached in the 100s and it just became too much – too much to track and I doubted than anyone would ever look at the list of 100+ blogs on my list. I really do like this idea and can’t wait to see how it works for you. Good luck!

    • So far, I’m at about 50 and think it’s great, but if I get to 100 or 200 (if I’m that lucky or unlucky, depending on how you want to look at it πŸ™‚ ), then I might change my mind. For now, I’m going to stick with it, plus I’m hoping I can foster some conversation amongst all of us on all our different blogs. At least, that is the plan.

  6. W00T ! I made the list ! πŸ˜€

    You are brave. You announce the world via a blog-entry that there are new bloggers who made your list and those who were kicked out – are not even named !

    I can’t do that… I must edit my blogroll subtley.

    • Well, great, now that you put it that way, I’m feeling that maybe I am being too brutal…oh, well. If folks want to read my malarkey — and be included on the blogroll, they’ll stop by and leave a comment :).

  7. I am so happy to be on this list! Thank you!

    • You’re welcome. Glad to have you here — and also be your friend on Facebook (even if you did ignore my request to be a CityVille friend. πŸ˜‰ ).

      Funny thing is I’m also reconnecting with some folks with whom I’ve lost contact — so it’s all good. I’ll see you here in a bit on your blog as I’m still in the process of visiting the other commenters’ blogs.

  8. The toilet paper roll caught me eye; cute. I try to update my blogroll every few months, but seems like when I clean up and delete a few blogs that are no longer of interest, I also end up adding many new ones…keeps things fresh. anywho…your blog is great; keep up the good work.

    • Thanks, Diane. I’ve gone through a number of blogrolls — and blogs in my Google Reader that it’s not funny. It’s just sad. This is an attempt to bringing the joy back to reading blogs, instead of the chore it sometimes becomes — when you don’t get responses to your responses. Maybe this will encourage discussion on everyone’s part. Maybe. It can’t hurt to try.

  9. Awww man, I got bumped. Yeah, I know, I haven’t been around in awhile. But even if I don’t take time to say hey, I still read ‘ya. Honest.

  10. Yay, I’m in! I usually comment when I have something to contribute. Sometimes I just read, enjoy and stay silent. I am, however, trying to be more active on-line this year. Not a resolution, just a goal to work towards.

  11. The blogroll is something I struggle with myself – I eliminated an actual blogroll in favor of a google reader feed at least a year ago now. The blogs I read are represented there as and when they post without any effort on my part, which is pretty much the only way it was ever going to be updated!

  12. “Could you pass some paper over please (said to your wife)? This stall doesn’t have anything left on the roll.”

    Sheesh.

    πŸ˜‰

    Great idea, Unfinished!

    • I know the roll has been getting pretty low, but already it’s building back up…and this wasn’t a plea for help. Really. But I’m thankful for those — like yourself — who do consider my humble blog worthy enough to read on a regular basis. It is a honor, but also a responsibility which I try to take seriously.

      Unfinished Rambler, on the other hand — he doesn’t always take it so seriously.

      πŸ˜‰

  13. I think this is an excellent idea. Mind if I steal it?

    • It wasn’t my idea with which to begin, so please…

      …oh, and you’re on.

      I do have to be honest, I do follow some folks through Facebook and Twitter, and not through Google Reader. I didn’t add that caveat.

  14. Dammit! I didn’t make the cut. I read on google reader. I’m a bad commenter as of late (“late” meaning the past 2 years, it seems).

  15. I’ll be really interested in hearing about how this works for you over the course of the year…I’m generally a huge failure at commenting on blogs (there are more than 300 in my google reader…which could be the problem) and would love to find a way to make it more do-able, though I’m not sure the quid pro quo thing would work for me.

    • I’m terrible at commenting on blogs too and this is one way to attempt to do better than I’ve done in the past. Hopefully, it will keep me on my toes too so I don’t just respond “Great blog post.” Or “Yay, you!”

  16. A great idea, even if I do say so. I’m new to the wp.com site, but not new to blogging. My blog is 6 years old in April. I’ve been looking for ways to… gah, I have to go home!

    • I think I’ve actually seen you here previously, Mr. Sarcastic…and you look familiar like I knew from you another blog. Well, I’ll go get reacquainted, if that is the case.

    • Thanks for approving my comment. I posted just before hometime and in the course of my flight from the workplace, totally forgot the name of your blog so had to patiently wait for you to approve so that it would appear in my dashboard. Curse my lack of imagination (re: emailing the link to myself).

      What I was saying is, I have been looking for ways to increase readership of, not just my blog, but all blogs. It seems to be a lonely existence sometimes, that of the struggling blogger. I don’t write for profit or fame, but I think like anyone, when you put something down you appreciate some feedback. Otherwise, why would we do this (and leave comments turned on)?

      • No problem. You shouldn’t have to go through the approval process each time now. That’s only a one-time thing.

        It is a lonely existence at times, being a blogger, because of all the competing platforms: Facebook, No. 1 among them. Sometimes like other bloggers, why continue? But part of it is to get feedback. I actually wrote a post about for whom I blog a few years ago: http://unfinishedperson.com/2008/10/23/what-am-i-blogging-for/. Well, my alter ego, Unfinished Rambler, wrote it but same diff. πŸ™‚