Gallery

Ketchup sandwiches?!?!@#$%*>!

Each Monday, I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. I also include a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

As I was getting ready to write this post this morning at the senior center, one of the other volunteers commented:

Ketchup Sandwich

Image by ScottSchrantz via Flickr

“When I was a kid, I didn’t eat a lot of chips,  I didn’t eat a lot of candy bars. I would eat these [as she held up a graham cracker on which she was nibbling]…

…and ketchup sandwiches.”

No, this doesn’t mean that I’m going to take up eating the latter. However, last week I did make as one of my no’s no potato or corn chips, and this week I’m making another “no” for the year:

No Candy Bars

While unlike with chips where I can’t eat just one, with candy bars I can eat just one. The problem, of course, is a candy bar has a lot more calories than one chip, and even if I only have one candy bar a day, it is too many calories. It also replaces good calories of food that I should be eating. As my wife can attest by the number of candy bar wrappers I leave in our car, during some weeks I do have at least one candy bar a day.

Now the question is with what to replace that candy bar a day. It’d be easy to say “an apple a day,” but as I mentioned last week, I’m not big on apples as I mentioned last week. So for now, this is what I will say…

Yes to granola or fruit bars

I know. Even with granola or fruit bars, you have to be careful on the calories, but from what I remember, off the top of my head and not consulting any sources, most granola or fruit bars are at least 60 to 70 calories less than most candy bar. Even that is a change for the better, plus, of course, there’s the fiber factor, with granola or fruit bars having more fiber than candy bars.

So instead of picking up a candy bar at the convenience store, when I have a craving for a snack from now, I will buy a box a bar of granola or fruit bars (or maybe even go way out on a limb and buy both! whoa!) at the supermarket and eat one of those bars a day instead.

Of what other snacks besides fruits, vegetables, granola or fruit bars can you think that would be a healthy substitute for chips and candy bars?

For the record, if I ever did resort to eating ketchup sandwich, it would have to be Heinz, the only true ketchup in the world. 🙂

13 responses to “Ketchup sandwiches?!?!@#$%*>!

  1. Pingback: How I’ve been doing thus far on the no’s and yeses | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. There was a one fellow I knew way… back in Grade 2 … who used to have bread and ketchup for lunch.

    I was jealous of him.

  3. When I was a kid, I loved mustard sandwiches. I also loved iceberg lettuce with vinegar poured on it. I wish I had the same tastes today. They were skinny making.

  4. I like to snack on trail mixes, I buy one, the bag is about 4.98 and it has peanuts, banana chips, and couple other nuts, and M & M’s. Bananas are really great for you, I love them but they lack the crunch.

    Try a honeycrisp apple, they are just great, the season is over but keep an eye out for them they are great!

  5. Congrats on your decision. Lowfat yogurt is an option, if you like it. So many styles and flavors now, and many don’t even taste like you’re eating yogurt. One thing I used to do but got out of the habit is vanilla yogurt with granola cereal, ground flax seed and slivered almonds. This is a yummy and filling snack. 6 oz. yogurt, 1/4 cup granola, 1 TB flax seed and about 1 TB almonds. Stir and enjoy.

    Yuck to ketchup sandwiches. I do like a smear of mayo on a slice of white bread, though.

    • I used to like Miracle Whip on bread too, but usually with a slice of tomato too, not just by itself.

      Thanks for the thought of yogurt. I used to get them all the time and then somehow they slipped past my radar. Thanks for bringing them back on to the screen.

  6. I like to snack on dried fruit and nuts. Almonds and walnuts are very good for you.

    I will also snack on muffins I make. These taste like muffins not cake. I usually make blueberry with pecans.

    All-natural peanut butter and graham crackers.

    Good Luck!

  7. Watch some of those granola bars. I know Nature Valley has a few that are 180 calories and over 25 grams of carbs!! To keep from craving the chocolate candy bar is it the sweet you like about it or the chewing crunch? If its the sweet try eating cantelope. That takes away my sweet tooth every time. If its the crunch you can try a granola bar, just watch the nutrition information on it. I’m glad you’re doing this!!

    • I’m not on a low carb diet so I’m not worried about that. In fact, I’d like to get back to running at some point, so I will need the carbs eventually so I’m not worried about that. Oh, it’s definitely the sweet that I like. I’ve got a definite sweet tooth. Cantelopes, I’ve forgotten all about them. Thanks for the suggestion there…and oh, yes, I’ll watch the nutrition information on the granola bars. They’re not all the same, but the calories still are better than a 270 or 300 or sometimes 400 calorie candy bar.