Gallery

True Grit (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Today, I got no reading done, because it was a busy day. It started with a brunch/Bible study with a group of couples from our church and continued with my sister, her son and our aunt visiting me and my wife for a late Christmas gathering. The day ended, though, on a semi-literary with my going to see the Coen Brothers’ True Grit, based on the book by Charles Portis, with a couple of friends (unfortunately, my wife reinjured her sciatic nerve that she injured last week and so was unable to attend).

In brief, since I’m posting this so late, I thought it was a solid movie, if not one of the best by the Coen brothers. Still it was good, buoyed especially by the performance of Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross. To be honest, while I liked Jeff Bridges (who also impressed me in recent years with Crazy Heart) as Rooster Cogburn, I had a hard time understanding him at times. It was as if he had marbles in his mouth, although I think that was in keeping with his character having chewing tobacco in his jaw much of the time. I would have preferred, though, to have the option of closed captioning so I could have captured some of the wonderful dialogue.

Matt Damon was good, but nothing stood out about his performance to me. What did stand out, in contrast, was the cinematography as always great with a Coen brothers film, with Roger Deakins who also worked with the brothers on several of their films, including Fargo, O Brother Where Art Thou?, and No County for Old Men, as director of photography.

Overall, I’d give the movie a 3 out of 4, well worth seeing, but not necessary to see in the theater.

For another opinion, see Blake’s review (which includes links to a few other reviews) of the movie on the blog Bitchin’ Film Reviews.

12 responses to “True Grit (TSS)

  1. I loved it. Cried a bunch of times, inexplicably. Want to see it again on the big screen, which is where Coen films belong.

    • You cried?!? Whoa. That wasn’t a crying movie, and I’ve seen — and cried my way through — my share of crying movies and that wasn’t one of them. 🙂

      It might “belong” on the big screen, but I don’t think it’s “necessary” to see on the big screen. I’ll stand by my assessment of very good, but not as great as some of their others. Of course, one of my favorites is one of my wife’s least favorites, The Hudsucker Proxy, so what do I know about Coen brothers films?

  2. Thanks for sharing! I’ll admit that I am a fan of all things Coen brothers, but I can wait to see this one based on your review. I’m not certain how I feel about Matt Damon in a western anyway…

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention True Grit (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe) -- Topsy.com

  4. Good to know. My husband is not one for remakes, especially remakes of classic John Wayne movies, so I was urging him to try this and I really don’t want to do that unless it’s fabulous.

  5. Hey! Thanks for the shout out. It seems we feel similarly about True Grit. Certainly a solid film, but nothing to write home about.

    I hope your wife feels better soon! I’ve experience some sciatic pain, it’s horrible. Pass along my condolences.

    • We agree, except I liked the actress who played Mattie a little more than you. However, I usually agree with most of your reviews — and they usually get me to seek out movies I might not have otherwise.

      I’ll let my wife know that you pass along your condolences.

  6. I think the last movie I saw in a theater was How to Train Your Dragon.

  7. The last movie I saw in the theater was “Tangled” (with my kids), and before that … “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” (with my kids).

    So, your advice to save this one for Netflix is well-received by me 🙂 I would rarely have it any other way. (and I can take 3 out of 4, from the comfort of my own home).

    I hope your wife is soon feeling better; sciatica can be a bear!

    • With Netflix Instant, we watch most of our movies and TV shows (watching Damages, Season 1, right now) on Netflix. We rarely go to the theater, but I’ve been waiting to see this one for a while and plus it was a good opportunity to go out with a couple of friends with whom we normally don’t get to go out.