Gallery

Catching up on Captchas of the Weeks: From “agthst” to the ever popular “sperm”

It’s been a while since I’ve done this here. In fact, according to my meticulous record-keeping, it was back in August when I said I’d commit to doing a Captcha of the Week every week — and then promptly forgot about it. So now I thought I’d catch up on a few and maybe, only maybe, return to doing this every week. How do you like that for decisiveness?

agthst

This one seemed to be a variation of Agatha, which was appropriate because I was commenting on a post by Kerrie at Mysteries in Paradise, who is the founder of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge.

coupeetiFor some reason, the first thing that came to mind upon seeing this one was “Cup’o’tea, g’vnr?” I don’t know. Better than a cup of pee, I guess. Or a very small coup that probably would fail anyway so why even instigate it?

plufartm

I think Plufartm was Plutarch’s second cousin, thrice removed, on his mother’s side. However, I might be wrong about that. Or else it’s a newly discovered satellite of Pluto. One or the other.

sperm

Um, you really need an explanation on this one? I guess I would have been more surprised if I had seen the word “jism.”

So any good Captchas that you’ve seen recently? Care to share? Do so with your own blog post if you like and then link here, if you want.

6 responses to “Catching up on Captchas of the Weeks: From “agthst” to the ever popular “sperm”

  1. “agthst” is probably how Agatha Christie expresses her angst when the villain gets away.

  2. “I think Plufartm was Plutarch’s second cousin, thrice removed, on his mother’s side.”

    True, actually. But while Plutarch was a Platonist who was open to the influence of the Peripatetics, and in some details even to Stoicism despite his polemics against their principles, Plufartm spent most of his free time bar-hopping, and didn’t give a flying fuck.

  3. LOL — These are always fun, especially when they can be twisted into fitting the post one’s commenting on.

    • unfinishedrambler

      Sometimes they are just bizarre, though. I just keep forgetting to take snapshots, but from now on, I’ll try to remember.