Gallery

No to potato or corn chips, yes to vegetables and fruits!

Each Monday, I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. I also include a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy. Without further adieu, here’s this week’s “no” and “yes.”

No potato or corn chips

Potato chips

Image via Wikipedia

Might as well go right for the jugular right from the start of the year, and, to mix metaphors, and turn things upside down, this is my Achilles heel. That Lay’s slogan “No one can eat just one” definitely applies to me when it comes to me and potato and corn chips. If bags of them are around the house, they’re gone within days, if not sometimes hours. To say I devour them is an understatement.

Yes to vegetables and fruits as snacks

So to make this even more challenging, I have to add the “yes” here and say yes to vegetables and fruits, my Achilles heel on the other side. Vegetables are one thing, but fruits? I am not a big fan of apples and oranges, so I’m going to have be creative here with other fruits: tangerines are all right, grapes too. My mind isn’t completely awake  yet so I’m not thinking of others, so if you have other suggestions, please feel free. Melons? Well, they might be a start.

What is your “Achilles heel” when it comes to snacks? Is it  potato or corn chips or is it something else? If so, what?

11 responses to “No to potato or corn chips, yes to vegetables and fruits!

  1. Pingback: How I’ve been doing thus far on the no’s and yeses | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: Ketchup sandwiches?!?!@#$%*>! | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. So, my husband is allergic to fresh fruits and vegetables. Are you thinking you’d like to trade places with him? Let me tell you–it’s a pain in the ass to cook a healthy dinner around my house! And since so much goes to waste I don’t typically buy fruits or veggies for myself (He can eat the canned variety or even some frozen–as long as it’s cooked to mush).

    Grapes are a great quick snack. I eat kiwi with the skins on because I’m too lazy to peel. Bananas are definitely the easiest fruits to eat. I do get apples in the fall and Little Cuties (clementine oranges) in the winter. Berries are my favorite–when they’re in season. Pour some in a small bowl, rinse, and eat with fingers. Can’t get easier than that.

    Good luck!

  4. I don’t buy chips or cookies or snack foods for that matter. If we have them in the house, they get eaten. Grapes, cherries, mangoes, plums, are all great for snacking. Alex likes carrot sticks and celery, but I’m not a fan of raw veggies usually. Cherry tomatoes are good. We do eat vegetarian dinners at least 3 times a week. Eggplant parm, or spinach lasagna, vegetarian, (beans and rice) tacos or portabella mushroom steaks, it’s not really making a sacrifice.

  5. I can avoid chips, but it’s food in general that slays me. I just got back from a week-long business trip. With my expense account in hand, I ate all the worst things–steak (twice), Mexican food, pasta (twice), alcohol (lost count), and soda (lost count). Now it’s time to move around a little and get back to regular food.

    Sigh.

  6. Mangoes. Why didn’t I think of that? And the dried fruit, that’s a very good idea. It looks like you’ve given this some thought, Eva. Maybe you should have just written the blog post…oh, wait, I think you did write your own here. 😉 But seriously, what you’ve given here is very good advice — and gets me thinking “outside the box” of apples and oranges.

  7. Apples & oranges are two of my least-favourite fruits, so I understand! I do however love bananas: not when they’re super-ripe, but then they’ve just ripened and still have a hint of green on their peels. I eat one nearly every day. 😉 Similarly, I strongly prefer Granny Smith apples; unlike the other kinds, these are tart and they don’t have as ‘grainy’ a feel to their flesh.

    Other than just suggesting you get one or two different kinds of fresh fruit on every grocery trip, so you can find your favourites (mine include mangoes, plums, green grapes, peaches, and blackberries), I’d also say be sure to look into frozen and/or dried fruit. I LOVE eating frozen peaches: they’re nice and creamy and perfect for cooling off. Depending on the season, frozen fruit can be cheaper than fresh. And you don’t have to worry about them overripening/going bad. Not to mention smoothie making potential! (When fresh bananas get too ripe for me to like them, I peel & freeze them, since they’re the best for smoothies-no need for sugar.) You can also find 100% fruit popsicles in the freezer aisle in grocery stores: Breyer makes my favourites. Dried fruit makes a super-easy snack, since you don’t have to worry about throwing away a pit/peel. My favourite dried fruits for snacking are apricots, figs, dates, and cranberries (but it’s difficult to find ones that don’t contain a ton of added sweetener). It’s also easy to toss a handful of dried fruit into a salad (I tend to go with cranberries for that job!).

    That’s my advice; I tend to be more of a veggie person than a fruit person as well (I think because I prefer most food cooked!).

  8. I’ve managed not to have any chips in the last 3 months. BUT unfortunately, pesky friends brought a box of chocolate covered cookies at around Christmas. (There are a few left)

    Another friend celebrated his engagement with cake & icing at the beginning of the year.

    And more cake last week form a friend who found out that she was pregnant with her first child.

  9. Definitely chocolate and baked goods for me. I rarely eat chips or “snack” foods- I don’t buy them so I’m not tempted to eat them. But I love me some cookies and cake and pastry. Bad news!