Gallery

On low blood sugar and blogging

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and ask the following questions:

For what are you least grateful this past week?

For what are you most grateful this past week?

LEAST GRATEFUL

Low blood sugar: I don’t know where my head is at this week, but it hasn’t been sitting atop of my neck and shoulders. For some reason, especially for the last few days, I’ve felt extremely logy in the afternoons and just generally “out of it.” I don’t know why, but I just have. It’s also led me to do some stupid things, including one main one to read a blog post of my sister’s (which has since been deleted) about my dad to my aunt.

In the post, my sister ranted about my dad (although in a good-natured way) ranting about my aunt and my mom. I honestly don’t know what I was thinking when I read it to my aunt, but I did. My sister and I since have mended our fences, which have been broken previously, mostly because of stupid things said by me. My dad, meanwhile, since mended fences with my aunt and his wife, as they were getting him a birthday gift (his birthday was Wednesday) when he was ranting about them. Don’t doubt the power of a good birthday gift. It heals a multitude of wounds  — sometimes, not that I’m advocating that you treat your significant other or a relative like crap and then try to coat it over with a gift.

MOST GRATEFUL

Blogging: I’m off to a fast, if not furious, start here in 2011 as this is my seventh, wait, eighth blog post of the New Year on my way to a post a day this year (well, technically, my sister had a guest post, but still I’m the one who “posted” it.). Admittedly, the posts haven’t been works of art (yet…well, with the exception of my sister’s guest post, of course), but I’ve been doing it and plan to continue throughout the year. Between myself and Unfinished Rambler, we can do it. UR will check in tomorrow with another Patron of the Week post and then Sunday, I’ll return to talk about what I’m reading for The Sunday Salon.

So for what are you least grateful and most grateful this first week of the New Year?

One response to “On low blood sugar and blogging

  1. We made up? I can’t believe you lied to your readers like that.

    Dumb ass.