Gallery

What I plan on reading in 2011 (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Last week, I wrapped up my year in reading in 2010 with two posts, one on my top five books of the year and another on my best of 2010 in books. This week, with it being the second day of 2011, I thought I’d discuss what I plan on reading in 2011:

  1. Waiting for Columbus by Thomas Trofimuk for a readalong this coming month along with a group of book bloggers.
  2. Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World

    Image via Wikipedia

    A few books by Haruki Murakami for the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge. I’m starting with Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World later this month and then hope to reread A Wild Sheep Chase and then read its sequel, Dance, Dance, Dance. Beyond  that, we’ll see how many others of Murakami’s I want to, or will, read.

  3. The stories of Sherlock Holmes as I have been in The Complete Sherlock Holmes Vol. I and II by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, which I have both in print and on ebook on my Nook, in chronological order. Next up: The Hound of the Baskervilles.
  4. Other Sherlock Holmes pastiches and related works, especially continuing the Mary Russell series as written by Laurie R. King and The Sherlockian by Graham Moore .
  5. More Agatha Christie novels as I continue the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge.
  6. The last two Charlie Chan mysteries, Charlie Chan Carries On and Keeper of the Keys, both by Earl Derr Biggers.
  7. Some of the books on these shelves: Sunday Salon 08 22 10 Most of the books on these shelves were given to me by my brother-in-law Warren, many of which are Hard Case Crime books, as well as assorted Elmore Leonard and Arthur C. Clarke novels, to name just a few of the authors there.
  8. More non-fiction than I read in 2010, which I could count on one hand. I’d like to count the amount of fiction I read in 2011 on at least two hands.
  9. Less books from our hometown physical library, mainly because of those shelves pictured above, but ironically more books from the hometown’s virtual library, where ebooks can be borrowed on the Nook.
  10. Free and cheap ebooks from Google ebooks so that when I do buy ebooks, part of the proceeds go back to the indie bookstores from where I buy the ebooks and I will put my lipservice to indie bookstores into action.

So what are your reading plans for 2011?