Gallery

My final thanks and no thanks of 2010

The plan was to post Flashback Friday each week, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and ask the following questions:

For what are you least grateful this past week?

For what are you most grateful this past week?

I haven’t always done it, but since this is the end of the year, I thought I’d do a special Flashback Friday with a slightly different wording of the questions, asking the questions with “this past year” instead of “this past week.”

LEAST GRATEFUL in 2010

In terms of both this blog and my life, I think I’m least grateful for one thing: inconsistency. I haven’t been consistent with posting each week on the themes as originally outlined: Motivation Monday, Midweek Review and Flashback Friday. I also haven’t been consistent in terms of other features such as Patron of the Week, where I highlight a patron from the library where I work each week. More importantly, I’ve been inconsistent in my life, with sporadic to almost non-existent church attendance –which may not seem like a big deal to some, but to me as a Catholic, it is (and not because I feel “guilty” about it either as you might think)– and non-existent exercise of any kind. I’m not even consistent with my reading, with my reading fluctuating between a semi-structure and no structure. It’s not that I believe reading has to be a structured activity, but I would like at least some sense of where I’m going with my reading for the new year, even if in general terms such as more nonfiction or more poetry or…something along those lines.

MOST GRATEFUL in 2010

Also in terms of this blog and my life, I think I am most grateful for at least one “thing:” YOU, my faithful readers and friends. I would name you all, but I’m afraid I would leave out someone whom I should have mentioned. You, like the song says, lifted me…

…and you continue to lift me, bring me out of the pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock…

Maybe in the New Year, with your help and the help of a Power Higher Than I, (whether you or even I sometimes believe), I –and in turn, we– will sing, sing a new song.

6 responses to “My final thanks and no thanks of 2010

  1. Happy New Year to you and yours. This will be a good year. You know, right before 2012 when the world ends. Isn’t that always the way?

  2. May there be many new songs to sing (and books to read) in 2011!

  3. Me? Me? Wow!

    Thank-you-very-much!

    Happy New Year!

  4. ” I am most grateful for at least one “thing:” YOU, my faithful readers and friends”
    Yuh huh… just like how I felt when TIME announced the 2006 person of the year.

    Thanks Unfinished – I hope to see more from your blog in 2011 – especially topped with satire.
    All the best.

    • I know…a bit of a cop-out, wasn’t it? I should have named you all, especially YOU! Unfortunately, I was afraid that I would miss someone whom I should have mentioned, so I opted for the cop-out.

  5. Happy New Year! 🙂