Gallery

My Best of 2010 in Books

Since I already did a post on my top five books and top five movies this past year for The Sunday Salon, I thought I’d do something slightly different for today’s Midweek Review. I saw the following meme, an End of 2010 Survey, at Deb Nance’s readerbuzz on Sunday. She got it from Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner and while I mostly eschew memes (well, except for my own of Motivation Monday, Midweek Review and Flashback Friday and Deb Hamel’s The Sunday Salon), I thought this one looked harmless enough and might be something you can use to look back at your own year in reading.

  • Best Book of 2010: Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese.
  • Worst Book of 2010: Murder At The Super Bowl by Fran Tarkenton. It also was the first book I read this year. I saw it on the shelves of the library where I work and thought it would be a fun tie-in to the upcoming Super Bowl. I was wrong.
  • Most Disappointing Book: Faceless Killers by Henning Mankell. This is the first Kurt Wallander mystery and I can’t say that I was impressed. I might return to the series, but based on this one, I don’t know.
  • Most Surprising (In A Good Way) Book: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I had avoided the book because I had started reading it and thought it was too graphic. I only later returned to it to learn that it was a pretty good read.
  • Book You Recommended To Most People: Cutting For Stone.
  • Best Series You Discovered: Omar Yussef series.
  • Favorite New Authors You Discovered: Matt Beynon Rees (see link above).
  • Most Hilarious Read: Drowned Hopes by Donald E. Westlake. It is part of the John Dortmunder series and possibly is the best one of the series, because of the intricate plotting and hilarious twists and turns the novel takes.
  • Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book: Tie: The Girl Who Played With Fire and The Hunger Games. The first was the second part of the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson and the second was the first of the…well…Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins. I thought these two were the best parts of the trilogy.
  • Book You Most Anticipated: Memory by Donald E. Westlake. I had read about this one on the Hard Case Crime website only a week earlier and then was surprised to find it on our new book shelves at our library.
  • Favorite Cover of A Book Read: Kingdom Come by Mark Waid and Alex Ross with Todd Klein (click thumbnail to be taken to larger image)

  • Most Memorable Character: Lisbeth Salander from the Millennium Trilogy by Larsson as mentioned earlier.
  • Most Beautifully Written Book: Cutting For Stone, a close second Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell.
  • Book That Had The Greatest Impact On You: This Book Is Overdue And Cybrarians Can Save Us All by Marilyn Johnson. Mainly, why this had the greatest impact on me because it made me realize there were other bloggers out there who wrote about their experience working in libraries. As a result, I started my Patron of the Week series.
  • Book You Can’t Believe You Waited Until 2010 To Read: Maus by Art Spiegelman.

Take the survey yourself, if you’re so inclined, and then head over to Jamie’s site (see link above) to add your post to Mr. Linky.

11 responses to “My Best of 2010 in Books

  1. Pingback: What I plan on reading in 2011 (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Literary Feline

    I enjoyed reading your list. I hope to read Cutting Stone one of these days. It sounds like something I would really like. I enjoyed the one book in the Omar Yussef series I read last year. I definitely want to continue with it.

    I hope you have a great New Year with much wonderful reading.

  3. Loved your list. Cutting for Stone was my top book for 2009.

  4. I loved Cutting for Stone, too. It was beautiful. I’m also glad that you enjoyed The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I fell in love with it and the audiobook narrator, Simon Vance. It was terrific.

    I had to read Maus in college and I’m so thankful. It is beyond words.

    Here’s to 2011!

  5. I fully agree about Lisbeth Salander. One can’t get her out of the mind..

    I could read only 96 books in 2010. But that’s ok. I was in a reading slump for more than four months.

    Here are my Best Reads of 2010.

  6. My Mommeh just finished Dark Matter by Michelle Paver – it’s a ghost story set in the Arctic. ::shivers:: Have you read Infected and Contagious by Scott Sigler?

  7. I’m going to have to do this, too – I had titles flying through my head as I read your answers. 🙂

  8. Coincidentally, I posted my year in review today with both top 5 books AND several items from this “best of” list! I didn’t realize there was a Mr. Linky so off I go.

    I like your best ofs … Happy New Year!