Under the rocks and stones, there is water underground

Recently I’ve noticed that I’ve been cracking the top part of my cranium on the cabinet after I get coffee each morning.

Then I realized to paraphrase partially The Talking Heads song:

I don’t own a large automobile
this is not my beautiful house
this is not my beautiful wife
how did I get here?

I own a Prius, live in a rental cottage in the Berkshires, am single and I don’t know how I got here, except for that bump on the top of my head that I feel each morning in the shower as if I’m a phrenologist.

But let’s say that is my Second Life, because in my first life, I actually do own a large automobile:

Photo courtesy of my sister

Okay, it’s not a Cadillac, but it is a large automobile.

This is not my beautiful house. My wife and I do rent this, and it’s not really that pretty and the shingles are starting to show signs of wear:

Image by Fritz Liess via Flickr, not actually our house because I couldn't find a ready-made photo of our house and my camera batteries are dead.

This is not my beautiful wife. No, that is my beautiful wife:

No, the one on the right.

I got here through the process of reverse osmosis. Don’t ask me. I’m not a marine biologist and I don’t understand it either.

I don’t even drink coffee, but I do have a groove on the top of my cranium where earworms like this congregate:

22 responses to “Under the rocks and stones, there is water underground

  1. In the interest of full disclosure:

    He frequently wakes up and the first thing out of his mouth is “I have to write a blog post”. Whereas I usually say “I have to pee.” Take that for what its worth.

    The picture of us is a few years old but not so old that we’ve deteriorated appreciably. We still look that good, just forty-something good. I think we were thirty something good in that picture.
    Also: We are in the Moosewood Restaurant in Ithaca. And he is wearing a leather jacket. Fortunately the ‘Moose is one of the least green-judgy places in the whole of 14850 so no one complained. If we’d gone to the co-op they would have gotten all ecological on his ass.

    Our house is a bit bigger than the one depicted and also not a shotgun shack. We live in the sticks but there are no cars on cinder blocks in sight. At least not in the borough.

    That really is our car. It may not have mad style but it was free.

  2. Same as it ever was. Same as it ever was. Same as it ever was.

    ps: Sorry, but I have always wanted to say that.

  3. Nice house. I thought “unfinished”only referred to yourself. I have some fleas I can lend you if you need them. To me, nothing says “home”like the sound of the cat raking madly at his neck with his back claws.

  4. You lost me at “I own a Prius”.

    Kidding. Kidding.

    Feeling a bit discombobulated?

    • unfinishedrambler

      Some days I do feel a little of sorts. This was one of them. I really did have a bump on my head that I couldn’t explain and wa la, this post. Sorry to ruin the creative process.

  5. If that is not your beautiful house, where is it?

    If that is not your beautiful wife, where is she?

    Why is Jaffer saying you put lipstick on your head?

    Why did Michael say you are a luck man… your wife not so much?

    I’m confused. But I like the Talking Heads.

    • unfinishedrambler

      I couldn’t find a photo of the house, but that is our car and that is my beautiful wife. I think Mike was joking that I’m not a handsome man.

      Sorry to confuse you, but I like The Talking Heads too. πŸ™‚

      • Unfinished keeps insisting that he is the one on the right ! My right prevails over camera right.

        • unfinishedrambler

          No, my wife is on the right.

          I always knew Canadians didn’t know their left from their right and now it is proven. πŸ™‚

          • Your right or my right ?

            On a personal note: Some of my friends advise that I never should give directions ‘while the care is moving’. I am bound to say “Turn right here” and point to the left and vice versa.

            • Yes, I was joking. You’re very handsome. And lucky. Mostly lucky, actually. Be very, very good to your woman, Rambler, because some people never get that lucky twice, okay?

              • unfinishedrambler

                In the interest of full disclosure, that photo was from a few years ago. I’m not quite as handsome now. And thanks for the advice. We’ve been good to each other for the past 14 years. Hope to continue for many more.

  6. P.S. — Would you send me a link to your wife’s blog (or post it here)? I can’t find it, I can’t remember its name or her name, and I want to catch up.

  7. Hah! It’s weird to feel like you’re in the wrong place, isn’t it? This post has an “experimental writing” feel to it, Rambler. I like it. A lot.
    You’re a luck man, by the way. Your wife? Not so much. πŸ˜‰

    • unfinishedrambler

      “Experimental writing”: I thought the same thing. To be honest, I was inspired a bit (only a wee bit πŸ™‚ ) by your own posts. The post actually came to me in the middle of the night. Some of the best posts do. Of course, some of the worse do too.

      • I’m flattered, but you don’t need me. My favorite line of this post is: “I got here through the process of reverse osmosis. Don’t ask me. I’m not a marine biologist and I don’t understand it either.”

        This line’s stuck with me all day. I keep rolling it around in my head, trying to figure it out. I love it, actually, and will probably steal it one day when you’re not looking.

        • unfinishedrambler

          I’ve been writing a little (okay, a lot) nonsensical lately. I don’t even know about what I’m talking.

          Contrary to your opinion, I will see when you steal. I read all of your blog posts. I don’t comment always. I leave that to Linda ;).

          Oh, and when you do, even though I love your writing (mainly because you put so much work into it unlike me), I’ll sue your ass.

          • unfinishedrambler

            Er, actually if anyone is going to be stealing around here, though, it will be me from you…and I mean that. You’re too good. You’re one of the few bloggers out there that also is a writer. Some are only bloggers, but you also are a writer.

            • Awww, thanks, Rambler. You’re too kind. Also, if you try to sue me, I will break you like a tiny twig, my friend. I have a team of lawyers standing by 24/7 to deal with insignificant legal problems like you. They’re hungry and they’re rabid.

              (I think bluster is important when you’re about to get embroiled in a legal matter.)

  8. I must confess that is pretty much how I imagined your house because both of you mention either living room or the kitchen mostly.

    That shade of lipstick really does hide the bump on your head, Unfinished.
    Nice jacket, Kim.