Why I am a book blogger (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Back in April, I wrote a post called “Why I am not a book blogger.” Today’s post, as you can see by the title, is a reversal of that.

In that original post, I identified five reasons why I didn’t consider myself a book blogger. First, that I didn’t participate in blog tours sponsored by authors or publishers. Second, that I didn’t focus on new books and mostly on classics. Third, that I didn’t participate in memes as a large majority of book bloggers (not all) do. Fourth, that I didn’t engage in politics/discussions about differences between book bloggers, author bloggers and professional reviewers. Fifth and finally, that my life is about more than books.

I still don’t participate in blog tours sponsored by authors or publishers. While the vast majority of the books I’ve read this past year haven’t been published in 2010, several have been published within the last few years and I really don’t read classics, although it’s something to which I aspire. I do participate in memes, as evidenced here, but still try to limit the number in which I do participate. I don’t engage in those discussions as mentioned above, but I do take satirical swipes at them on Twitter from time to time because part of me (Unfinished Rambler) likes being a smart ass.

And yes, while my life is about more than books, it still is about books. I work at a library, for God’s sake…and for my own sanity, I might add, although often the people who visit it are insane as evidenced by my alter ego’s Patron of the Week posts.

While I could make a list of five again, I’m going to just cut to the chase here: The No. 1 reason why I am “sort of” a book blogger is other book bloggers. In May, less than a month after I wrote that initial post, I joined Rebecca Reid of Rebecca Reads for Milton in May, which included a readalong of Paradise Lost. I failed miserably, but I did join. Also in May, I joined Florinda of The 3 R’s Blog: Reading, ‘Riting, and Randomness, one of five founders of the event, for Armchair BEA for those book bloggers unable to attend Book Expo America IRL. In June, I participated at least once in Library Loot, co-hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

In the latter part of the year, I participated in August a Faith’n’Fiction Saturday Roundtable sponsored by Amy of My Friend Amy, where she, I and other bloggers discussed Godric by Frederick Buechner. I wrote a couple of posts in September for Book Blogger Appreciation Week, an event also started by Amy in 2008.  I was invited to read a book by J.C. Montgomery of The Biblio Blogazine for a GoodReads discussion group and read-along, and in October, I posted a review of that book: Purple Jesus by Ron Cooper. I was grateful for reading during the Thankfully  Reading Weekend over the Thanksgiving weekend with Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves and Candace from Beth Fish Reads. At the end of November and into December, I participated in The Bloggerhood of the Traveling Book where I and four other bloggers gave our reviews of The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson (this link is to the post of 00dozo of When I Reach, who also received  a comment from Reg Keeland, the translator of the book). To round out the year, I swapped gifts in the Book Blogger Holiday Swap, which was started by Ana of Things Mean A Lot. There, I was introduced to Lydia of The Lost Entwife and Emily of Emily’s Reading Room.

Last and but not least, throughout the year, I’ve continued to participate in both the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, started by Kerrie of Mysteries  in Paradise, and, you’re reading it now, The Sunday Salon (click badge above for more about it), started by Deb Hamel of The DeBlog.com. Kerrie also graciously includes me on her blog, Crime Fiction Journeys, along with 27 other crime fiction bloggers.

When I began this post, I actually was going to title it “Why I am a ‘sort of’ book blogger”. But as I continued to write it, and counted all the activities in which I’ve participated with book bloggers, I am, for better or worse (I like to think better), a book blogger. That’s not all I am, of course, but it is a large part of who I am and I embrace it just as I embrace that I still am an unfinished person.

23 responses to “Why I am a book blogger (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Who am I? 24601 | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Finally! Geez. 🙂

  3. I struggled with this at the beginning of this year as well but have decided to just embrace the fact that I’m mostly a book blogger. Even though my posts are about half and half (bookish v personal) and I only read a pathetic 22 books this year my ENTIRE audience is book bloggers. Apparently I’m not very interesting to other people. 😉 But, they really are the best, huh?

    Being a book blogger isn’t so bad is it? Even if there are other things in life.

  4. Yay! You are a book blogger! 🙂

  5. Yup, I’m afraid you’re a book blogger. Be proud. 🙂 I very rarely do tours, or memes, and I avoid discussions/arguments like the plague, but I’ve always considered myself a book blogger.

  6. I am really glad you came out of the closet! I’m proud of you!

  7. I’m a reader. I’m a reader who likes to talk about what she is reading. And my favorite people to talk to about what I’m reading are other readers. There are lots of readers who blog. Thus, my presence here.

    I’m really not a blogger. Not a very good blogger. A reader.

    In addition, like you, I don’t do book tours. I only engage in memes that intrigue me. I do not read or review books just because I receive them in the mail.

    Just a reader. Not a blogger. Not really.

  8. I remember that post of yours earlier this year – and there have been several times since then when I’ve thought that you were doing a very convincing impression of a book blogger for someone who claims not to be one! 😀

    I’ve finally come to terms that there really isn’t one “right” way to be a book blogger…and it sounds like maybe you have too. And it’s about time!

    • I didn’t realize how good of an impression until I started looking back at the year, and I partially have you to blame :P.

      But seriously, thanks for helping me find my “calling” as a book blogger.

  9. Yeah, just own it already 🙂

  10. As I see it, there’s room for all kinds of book bloggers in this world. While my blogging has always been about books, I fit the rest of the non-blogger definition from your earlier post. But I have considered myself a book blogger from the start. I just read in and write for a different segment of the book blogging community. It sounds like you do, too.

    Given that we don’t participate in what feels like the “majority group,” it can be challenging to find the blogging community that fits. I regularly visit several bloggers who do the book tour/meme/discussion thing, but I also work hard to find bloggers with whom I have shared interests and start visiting/commenting there.

    Great post, thanks!

    • I don’t know if I always write for the book blogging community, though. Sometimes it’s just for myself and if someone gets something out of it, well, good for them…

      …I don’t always visit the blogs of those who do memes or reviews of books in which I’m not interested, but I do talk with a lot of them on Twitter and we have good conversations there.

  11. Over a year ago when I joined in on several events I saw on other blogs, I officially became a “book blogger,” according to the definitions of some.

    However, I have yet to do a blog tour. I don’t do a lot of author reviews, but I’ve done enough that I feel part of it all. I don’t grab the latest books, continuing to choose those that I connect with. I do like seeing what others are reading and sometimes I even take a chance on something others recommend.

    So, yes, sort of a book blogger.

    Here’s my salon:

    http://accidentalmoments.wordpress.com/2010/12/19/the-sunday-salon-dec-19/

  12. Welcome to the group of self-identified book bloggers (no matter how hesitant you are to do so)!

  13. I don’t do book tours and no longer care about bloggers vs authors discussions. And I hardly ever do memes. Which is ironic because people comment tons on my blog for memes, more than they do for reviews. So I don’t know if I’m a book blogger or not. But I LOVE books and I love to talk about books and I love to read what others say about books.