Pushing forward to December, back to November

This past month, I read 10 books and closed the gap between books read this year and movies watched this year, both now at 65, mostly with a little help from Thankfully Reading Weekend 2010 this past weekend. Out of the dozen choices mentioned last Wednesday, I read three books:

The other seven books were:

  1. The House Without A Key, the first of the Charlie Chan series.
  2. The Chinese Parrot, the second of the Charlie Chan series.
  3. Evil Under The Sun by Agatha Christie.
  4. The Patriotic Murders (aka One, Two, Buckle My Shoe) by Agatha Christie.
  5. The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler.
  6. Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell.
  7. The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell.

Out of the eight, the one I probably enjoyed the most was The Sparrow. I already have the sequel, Children of God, out from the library. As for what else is “on tap” this month, I have five others from the library:

  1. The Good Thief’s Guide to Amsterdam by Chris Ewan, the first in a series of Good Thief books, which I am in the midst of reading.
  2. Die Trying by Lee Child, the second in the Jack Reacher series.
  3. A Grave In Gaza by Matt Beynon Rees, the second Omar Yussef mystery.
  4. Maisie Dobbs by Jaqueline Winspear, the first of a series about the title character.
  5. The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Presents Earth (The Book): A Visitor’s Guide To The Human Race.

I have five other books that I own to which I also hope to get before the end of the month:

This month, I also will be participating in the Book Blogger Holiday Swap and will try to get to a few reviews of those Christie books for the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge Carnival after a hiatus of several months of participating. I already picked up the books for my secret “Santee” from our local bookstore, From My Shelf Books, but I can’t tell you what they are because that blogger might be reading this post. The only hint I’ll give is young adult.

Last but not least, this week I participated in The Bloggerhood of the Traveling Book Blog Tour, which started here on this blog and then went to Quirkyloon and today is at How To Become A Cat Lady…Without The Cats. Tomorrow, it will continue at nonamedufus and then is supposed to end Friday at the blog When I Reach, although it might continue at Confessions of a Reforming Geek on Saturday. Reffie also is reading the book, The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, which is the book we are discussing, and if she gets finished in time, maybe she’ll join us. Only time will tell…

…which is the song I’ll leave you all with:

The title of this post was inspired by this song, fyi.

11 responses to “Pushing forward to December, back to November

  1. Pingback: A look back at the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge thus far (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Sorry, no review by Saturday.

    Sorry, no Christmas gift for you by Saturday.

    Sigh.

    Happy Reading!

  3. Oh, and I’ll have to try to remember to sign up for the Book Blogger Holiday Swap next year! Thanks for cluing me into that!

  4. Great list, UR/UP! There are a couple there that I definitely want to add to my list. Now, if only my son comes through with a Kindle for me for the holidays, I’m set! (It’s still gonna be a while until I can drive to pick up books, what with the broken leg and all… but at the same time, it gives me lots of time to read!)

  5. I’m quite curious about those Omar Yussef mysteries! I’m assuming since you’re reading the second one that you’d recommend the first?

    • No, I wouldn’t recommend the first at all. It was horrible, but I thought the series might get better with the second one ;).

      Yes, actually the first was very good and I took this one out to read it too, but didn’t get to it because of other books I was reading at the time. The series, judging from the first one, is a very…literate…literary?…detective mystery. I’m hoping the second one is just that too.

  6. What a great reading list. I feel like my only literary endeavors of late come from blog post readings…time to change that.

    Thanks for the reminder 😉

  7. I love that song!!!!! It’s been ages since I have heard it.

    I haven’t had time to read and it really bums me out. I did start reading the Autobiography of Ben Franklin on my iPhone but I had to turn the page ever three or four lines and my carpal tunnel started to bother me. Still haven’t started the Girl with the … books but I have the first one on my night table.
    *sigh*

    • As soon as I wrote the phrase, I knew I had to use the video, even though it had nothing to do with the post.

      I can’t imagine reading on an iPhone. Of course, my wife and I are looking toward getting a Kindle, so won’t be much different, although a little larger screen, I hope. 🙂