Thankfully Reading Weekend wrap-up post (TSS)

This weekend as I mentioned on Wednesday, I hope to close the gap between books read this year and movies watched this year as I participated in Thankfully Reading Weekend 2010 this past Friday through today, started by Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelves (see previous link), Candace from Beth Fish Reads and Jen from Devourer of Books last year and continuing this year. Out of the dozen choices mentioned Wednesday, I read three books:

  • the third of the Charlie Chan series, Behind That Curtain, with three more to go (correction from Wednesday’s post where I said there were only five books in the series).
  • two of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith that I’m reading, Morality for Beautiful Girls and The Kalahari Typing School For Men.

With the three books, I’ve now read 65 books for the year and watched 64 movies for the year, so now we’ll see if I can keep ahead with the books for the rest of the year.

Today I’m reading The Good Thief’s Guide to Amsterdam by Chris Ewan, the first in a series of Good Thief books. So far, it’s pretty good. It’s not great, but is good enough for me to keep reading and who knows, maybe I’ll even finish it today.

I would have read more this weekend, but as I predicted I got trapped by one of those TV series marathons (plus a few college football games, I won’t lie). The TV series, though, wasn’t NCIS or CSI as I thought it might be. Instead, it was this British series adapted from American television:

So did you get any reading done over this Thanksgiving weekend? If so, what was the book or books you read? Or if you didn’t, what distracted you?

 

5 responses to “Thankfully Reading Weekend wrap-up post (TSS)

  1. I’ve been enjoying a series by Donna Leon… the Commissario Guido Brunetti mysteries set in Venice. Intriguing in that he isn’t always able to bring the miscreants to justice…. a change from so many predictable mysteries out there.

  2. I heard that the UK was doing a Law & Order series – I hope it was as good as the original or SVU (I didn’t really care for CI too much). I had to giggle, though, being Canadian and having worked for lawyers, the wigs and the outfits are still used in Canada as well.

    It may have been unintentional, but thank you for the “…Travelling Book…”. I almost forgot how to open a hard-copy text – it’s a great read!

  3. I read a pile of books, though, it must be told, I read all week, not just during the weekend.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon post:
    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2010/11/sunday-salon-thankfully-reading-weekend.html